Tyketto - 'Don't Come Easy (Remastered)' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     April 15, 2018    
0.0 (0)
2073   0   1   0   0   0





An album that became a cult classic when it should've been a platinum selling world-beater,

With their latest and quite excellent album 'Reach' currently winning Tyketto a whole new army of fans, the timing of the re-issue of their classic, much-loved debut couldn't have been better, twenty-five years after Geffen first unleashed it. However, with the album recorded and ready to go, Geffen held the release back until early 1991, just as Grunge arrived. Had 'Don't Come Easy' arrived while Melodic Rock was still in its ascendancy, I've no doubt that Tyketto would've become the household name their talent so richly deserves.

As Rock Candy's Derek Oliver observes in the sleeve notes, "the fact that Tyketto were out of step with the prevailing musical winds didn't mean to say that their music was anything less than spectacular. Indeed, their style and execution caused major excitement amongst connoisseurs of the genre, leading many to proclaim the album as one of the best records of the entire movement". The combination of the powerhouse vocals of Danny Vaughn, the scintillating guitar work of Brooke St. James and the precise rhythm section of drummer Michael Clayton Arbeeny and bassist Jimi Kennedy notable enough, it's the perfect balance of the acoustic guitar of Vaughn and St. James' fiery yet melodic electric guitar that set Tyketto apart from their peers – a dynamic they made their signature sound that others have attempted yet been unable to quite replicate.

It's obvious Geffen spared no expense on the recording, Richie Zito's sparkling production perfectly adorning an album that hasn't dated any in twenty-five years. However, it's testament to the song-writing strength that at least seven of the album's songs have become fan-favourite classics; 'Sail Away', 'Lay Your Body Down', 'Burning Down Inside' and 'Seasons' all regular visitors to their live set today. Then there's the big three... 'Wings' is pure Melodic Rock sing-along heaven, the stunning 'Standing Alone', the perfect example of an emotion-filled ballad that reaches right into your heart and soul, while the ubiquitous 'Forever Young' is the impeccable Rock anthem destined to blow the roof off any venue it's performed in.

The sleeve notes reveal the inside story of an album that became a cult classic when it should've been a platinum selling world-beater, while solitary bonus track 'Walk Away' (originally '...Young's B-side) is a cracking Melodic Rocker that was unlucky not to make the original cut, enhancing an absolutely classic album that no self-respecting Hard Rock fan should be without.

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site