CD Reviews

Aesthesia - 'Shattered Idols' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 10, 2012    
0.0 (0)
9097   0   1   0   0   0





Aesthesia return with their second full-length studio album.

Aesthesia return with their second full-length studio album and what a corker it is! The album features Hardcore Superstar guitarist Thomas Silver who cooks up some excellent riffs in the vein of Guns N' Roses circa 1987 while Nico Marlyn's vocals have a Klaus Meine thing going on. It's an effective combo. 

But it's obvious this album is all about the riffs and the opening track 'Greed Machine' opens up the gates for some memorable -- if hardly innovative -- songs in a very old school fashion. The very naughty 'Under 16' is one of 'Shattered Idols' heaviest tunes and has some sturdy drumming courtesy of Mike Marcia. The rest of the band by the way is made up of Julien Gatter and Jetblack on guitars and Johnny Lips on bass as well as additional musicians. There's less of a pompous, self-absorbed attitude from this band than what was apparent in the eighties American rock scene and there's a fair dosage of punk throughout the album especially prominent on 'Tales Of Underground.'

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The album hits an unfortunate slow spot with "Hometown' and 'Gone.' However, another toe-tapping track is the album's penultimate song 'Rattlesnake Preacher,' which has a Lemmy-style bass rippling through it. The album ends with the above average ballad 'Daydream' and while 'Shattered Idols' is by no means one of the best rock releases of the year the mix of classic rock, sleaze and punk is a likeable brew.

This French band has a lot going for it, and this particular reviewer is keen to hear some more music from them.

Neil Daniels

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks ago
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!
  • Rocktopia Te : Discover new music with Rocktopia: Today we posted 20 new album reviews! More to come ...
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Thanks! Can we expect a review from you in the not too distant future? :) Having said that, I'd like to thank you for all your support! I know that our forum is far too 'silent' at the moment, but this is going to change soon. Watch this space & once again: THANKS! ... ;)
  • Johns Band : Good post for THE WHO "TOMMY LIVE AT THE ROYAL ALBERT HALL" I have pre - order double CD version.
  • Berny : New interviews: We spoke with Jon C Butler & Sass Jordan! Check out the Rocktopia interviews section.
  • PJS : Mid September.
  • KI2000 : Really like the latest issue of Fireworks, when will 80 be out??
  • Hysteria : Best melodic rock site! Thanks for the hard work guys! \m/
  • Berny : Rocktopia July 2017 update: 50 new album reviews, 17 live reviews, 4 interviews. In addition, we are now posting daily news from Monday to Friday. Have fun! :)
  • Berny : Another Rocktopia UK music video premiere: 'tonight' by The Midnight Ghost Train. Pls. check out the LATEST NEWS on the front page!
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • mattnavy : For the record, the first issue of my order should commence with the latest edition.
  • mattnavy : Ok let me know please.
  • Berny : @ mattnavy: We'll sort it out now.
  • mattnavy : Just checked my post, still nothing arrived. My postcode is PL21 9JP.
  • Berny : @ mattnavi: I forwarded your question to the Fireworks team. Thanks for your patience.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us