Fireworks

CD Reviews

Europe - 'Bag Of Bones' http://www.rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/39/c9/ee/2050_europebagofbones_1332098994.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 18, 2012    
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
24196   0   1   0   0   1

Artist

Artist

Title

Label

Easily the best thing Europe have ever done.

Ever since their reformation back in 2003 Europe have released increasingly excellent heavy rock albums, with each release improving on the last. Their live shows in recent years have been nothing short of breath-taking with as many male devotees as female these days. If Deep Purple, UFO, Thin Lizzy, Led Zep etc floats your boat then Europe 2012 is the band for you.

From the heavy funky opening of ‘Riches to Rags’ it is clear that we are in for something special here. The drum sound owes much to the greats Bonham and Paice and the musicianship throughout is exemplary. This album rocks from start to finish and there are nods to all the greats throughout, with the sitar and eastern breakdown in ‘Firebox’ recalling ‘Kashmir’ before giving way to a short Schenkeresque solo from the always impressive John Norum.

Beautiful acoustic work opens the title track before the vocal follows on, leading to a swirling keyboard that announces the heavy as hell rhythm section, and as this song twists and turns it’s clear that this is a departure for Europe but a very successful one. This is a true classic.

So impressive is the opening to the album that I haven’t even mentioned the vocals of Joey Tempest yet. The voice is still recognisable from their 80s output but there is a rich timbre to his singing these days pitching him somewhere between Coverdale and Hughes - high praise maybe but fully justified I assure you.

‘My Woman My Friend’ showcases his range, starting acoustically before moving into a heavy shuffle with superb keyboard fills supporting the heavy riff before another jaw-dropping solo from John Norum, who is on fire throughout this album.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site


More heavy keys open ‘Demon Head’ which has a vaguely ‘Still of the Night’ feel to it with great vocals again and some cool fuzzy guitar work. The more I listen to this album the more I love it and for someone who yearns for the mark 2 Purple sound I can honestly say that this album is the equal of those great releases and will be a real eye-opener for anyone still associating Europe with the parping ‘Final Countdown’ and associated fluff. ‘Drink and a Smile’ is all Zep 3 acoustics with Joey Tempest showing another side to his vocals with a bluesy delivery, backed perfectly by guitar. ‘Doghouse’ is straight ahead rocker reminiscent of the kind of stuff Thunder used to do so well.

Throughout this review I have quoted several bands and musicians that this album nods to but one thing I haven’t said is that this is a truly unique piece of work in this day and age. This is true classic rock in 2012 and whilst the previous reference points are there, this is a quality standalone hard rocking album without a duff track anywhere. It is beautifully played throughout by a very tight band and a vocalist with an incredibly strong voice. The production is excellent, allowing all the instruments to be heard and making the songs that much stronger for it. This whole album could translate easily into the live arena and I for one cannot wait to see/hear these songs played live.

So where is the obligatory ballad? ‘Bring It All Home’ closes the album with piano to the forefront and some beautiful guitar fills and another great vocal and guitar solo. Much like the recent Tyketto album this is not just an afterthought but a beautiful ballad which is up there with the best they have ever done.

A fantastic album that is easily the best thing Europe have ever done, this is Heavy/Hard/Classic rock at its finest and more fool you if you cannot see past the hits of the 80s to give this a chance.

Nikki Tylar

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

 


Comments (8)add comment

Pedro said:

...
Really good review there. I think the point about people being able to look beyond the "Final Countdown" is a very good one. Europe are and always have been a very talented band, so let's hope people can put their preconceptions to one side for a moment and give these guys a much deserved chance!
 
March 22, 2012
Votes: +5

Vlatko!! said:

...
WOOOOW! Nice review! I can't wait the new cd to arrive in my mailbox!! If this is better than LLAE,I'm gonna die from happiness!!!
 
March 22, 2012
Votes: +4

Aishah Bowron said:

...
Excellent review !. I'm looking forward to hearing this album
 
March 22, 2012
Votes: +4

Valérie AM said:

...
Yes, very interesting review. This album seems irresistible. I'm going to buy it as soon as I can. Thank you.
 
March 23, 2012
Votes: +4

Dani said:

...
Great review!!! Thank you !!! EUROPE never cease to surpass our expectations and I do believe that they have once again made an incredible album!They are THE only band from the 80's that keeps on creating music,instead of just relying on the old hits and glory and this is exactly what makes them diffent from the rest of the bands from that era!!!Not many bands can say they are being productive as much as EUROPE have and this just confirms how much they actually value music and I hope they keep on recording such amazing albums, as I live through their music! They are exceptionally tallanted and deserve all the success in the World!!!
 
March 24, 2012
Votes: +4

Hysteria said:

...
REALLY LOOKING FORWARD TO THIS ALBUM!!
 
March 31, 2012
Votes: +2

SILVIA said:

...
EIIIIIIIIIIIII SUUUUUUUUUUUUUUPER SONG !!
THE BEST IS FANTASTIC!!!
CONGRATULATIONS EUROPE!!! SEE YOUUsmilies/cheesy.gif
 
April 11, 2012
Votes: +0

jan said:

...
That was a very good review. Nice that they are up to date with their sound. Shirley is of course a great producer and can bring out the best of the bands. Going to buy this one.
 
April 26, 2012
Votes: +0

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


busy

Member Login



Calendar

<<  December 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
        1
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8
  9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 6 hours ago
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!
  • bpomper : Thanks didnt of that. I still have not heard about fireworks 88 was it sent out. Thankyou
  • Rocktopia Te : @bpomper: For security reasons, we removed your previous message. Please do not post your private e - mail address. Many thanks for your understanding.
  • bpomper : Thanks for the reply. I see download but can you confirm that hardcopy was or is sent ou .thanks.the email i used is inder the contact me info of the website
  • Berny : @bpomper: Apologies for your troubles. Where did you send the email to? We haven't received anything. I will send you a longer reply via mail. Also, you can download the free CD from the "Fireworks" menu on top, but the CD links are only shown if you are logged in.
  • bpomper : 3rd email inquiring about my purchase of fireworks #88. i purchased on the 2oth of sept and today is the 24 with no response...paypal has taken the payment. should i have a down load of the cd for mu usa magazine. Looking forward to an answer
  • bpomper : hello i purchased fireworks #88 through paypal on9/23 and have not recieved an email from rocktopia. purchase is for a hard copy of the mag. should i have cd download instructions.when should i expect it
  • Berny : @Johns Band: I've just sent you an e - mail. Best regards, B.
  • Johns Band : I have ordered FM Live video and £1.99 taken from my PayPal account. How do I download video. Something gone wrong at processing with Fireworks. The links to report it do not work.
  • Berny : @kevinw01: Have you received the mail containing the donwload instructions? It seems as if you are downloading the bonus CDs from the "Fireworks" menu, those are meant for our readers in the USA and Canada whose copies do not come with the CD. I will send you a mail now. Thanks, B.
  • kevinw01 : I have ordered several issues of Fireworks but when I press the download button I only get a copy of the MP3 but not the PDF files. I have an iPad. Am I doing something wrong? Kevin
  • Berny : @ARONITY: Thanks for your order. As stated in the item's description, it can take up to three hours for your purchase to be processed. You should have received a mail containing the download instructions by now. Thanks for your patience!
  • ARONTY : Hi, Just ordered #88 pdf, Paypal show the payment, but no d/l link, please help..
  • Berny : @John: Pls. check your mail, this should have been sorted by now. Apologies for the delay!
  • johnmason : Hi. I paid for #88 and it doesn't show up in the licenses/Downloads and I never received any email telling me how to download it.
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks Magazine #88 is out now!
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks Berny got it

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us

FacebookTwitterYoutubeGoogle

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site