CD Reviews

Night Ranger - '24 Strings & A Drummer - Live & Acoustic' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     October 23, 2012    
0.0 (0)
2332   0   1   0   0   0

Probably the best Live Acoustic album since Tesla's 'Five Man Acoustical Jam'.

Not only do Frontiers pick the cream of the current talent, but they’re also home to many of our most beloved Classic Rock bands, and the latest release from one such act is this Live CD/DVD package from Night Ranger. As a celebration of 30 years since debut album ‘Dawn Patrol’, the band recorded an intimate acoustic set in Sausalito, California, with refreshing arrangements of some of their best-loved songs.

The sound quality of the album is amazing, and the band themselves sound like they’re having a ball, with constant shouts of encouragement to each other, and some of the more intricate guitar parts of Brad Gillis and Joel Hoekstra sound amazing when transformed for the acoustic environment. Jack Blades and Kelly Keagy pretty much split the vocals down the middle with a great selection of songs, the most recent being ‘Growing Up In California’, and as for the rest, well you won’t get better than the likes of ‘This Boy Needs To Rock’, ‘When You Close Your Eyes’, ‘Sing Me Away’, ‘Sentimental Street’ and ‘Don’t Tell Me You Love Me’, before the set gets wrapped up with the monumental (if slightly predictable) ‘Sister Christian’ and ‘(You Can Still) Rock In America.’

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

In Fireworks #53 I claimed that Don Henley’s ‘Boys Of Summer’ is one of those classic songs that should be left well alone when it comes to selecting cover versions, but now I stand well and truly corrected! The acoustic version that Night Ranger turn in here as a bonus track is awesome, I never thought it could be delivered in acoustic form, but it’s done perfectly, without taking anything away from the original. (Note: it’s not available on the DVD.)

Probably the best Live Acoustic album since Tesla’s ‘Five Man Acoustical Jam’, it really is that good!

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 14 hours ago
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)
  • Hysteria : Great new reviews guys! :)
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny I sent the email
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Please send a mail to «email»
  • SeaDog57 : Help!!! having trouble with Fireworks 77 download 7 Zip won't extract the files
  • Rocktopia Te : Listen to the new track by KOBRA AND THE LOTUS: Check out the News section!
  • Berny : 5500+ reviews on Rocktopia!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us