CD Reviews

Black Country Communion - 'Black Country' Hot

Added by James Gaden     August 20, 2010    
0.0 (0)
7379   0   1   0   0   0
Debut album from the much hyped supergroup.


Hey, it’s that term ‘supergroup’ again... if you’ve been living in a cave, Black Country Communion are a four piece assembled by Glenn Hughes of Trapeze, Deep Purple and Black Sabbath fame, in tandem with blues guitar hero Joe Bonamassa. With the experience of Kevin Shirley (Journey, Aerosmith, loads of others) on production duties, and drums provided by Jason Bonham, things were looking good. Apparently Bonham didn’t want to be part of a three piece, so the not inconsiderable ivory tinkling skills of Derek Sherinian from Dream Theater completed the line up.

Understandably the quartet’s reputations caused much speculation and now their debut record has finally arrived. I wasn’t sure whether it would be bluesy because of Bonamassa’s influence, or have some of Hughes’ trademark funk in there, but neither of those genres get a look in. The fact of the matter is this band was put together to rock, and rock they do!

The title track opens the record, with a pounding bass line from Hughes, before Bonamassa kicks in with Bonham and Sherinian right behind him. It’s a powerhouse start, and lyrically Glenn explained to me it was all about him returning to rock. Follow up ‘One Last Soul’ is even better, with Hughes’ awesome voice in great form. The song has a great chorus and there’s not a sniff of funk for those who dislike that side of Glenn’s work... and that is the case for the entire album.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

‘Down Again’ is worth mentioning because it sounds like it was left off Glenn’s popular ‘Return Of Crystal Karma’ CD. ‘Beggerman’ is also worthy of note for it’s frantic pace and Glenn giving a prime example of why he was bestowed the rather hefty ‘Voice Of Rock’ mantle. For long time Hughes fans, they’ll lap up the new version of the Trapeze classic ‘Medusa’, which apparently Glenn often jammed with John Bonham, and Jason was keen to follow his father’s example, with Bonamassa playing it on the late Mel Galley’s guitar.

‘The Revolution In Me’ and ‘Song Of Yesterday’ feature Bonamassa on lead vocals and he does a terrific job. There are also a couple of duets where Glenn and Joe share the limelight, one of which is the stand out ‘Sista Jane’, with an almost AC/DC-esque power chord intro, and the best hook and chorus on the album.

Rounding things out is ‘Too Late For The Sun’ which ends with a band jam that was recorded spontaneously in one take. I found the album grew on me with repeated listens and is a fine first effort from what I hope will be a continuing project. It sounds huge and similar to Chickenfoot, it was recorded with few overdubs and plenty of enthusiasm. Those wanting Hughes to rock have got it in spades here, and this funk free debut will win back a lot of fans for the Voice Of Rock. This is more than just a Glenn Hughes vehicle though, it really does sound like a serious band and the album is well worth checking out!

James Gaden


Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  October 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 7 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us