Concert Reviews

Snake Oil & Harmony Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 10, 2018    
0.0 (0)
286   0   1   0   0   0

Snake Oil & Harmony - The Cluny, Newcastle (UK) - 22 February 2018

The Cluny in Newcastle is a compact venue that allows for a very intimate atmosphere. I visited it for the first time just twelve months previously to see Jeff Scott Soto and his band. I was impressed by the set-up and thought it was the ideal setting for the smaller scale tours.

Together again, as Snake Oil & Harmony, Dan Reed and Danny Vaughn are able to indulge themselves in an acoustic format. For those unfamiliar with the concept, it gives the guys the opportunity to perform well known solo and band (Dan Reed Network and Tyketto) songs with more relaxed arrangements and a different energy. It has worked very well on previous tours, becoming more successful each time. The shows are improvised to a degree (I'm sure some of the impromptu moments have had some kind of rehearsal) and the set-lists change from venue to venue. What does not seem to change is the quality of the performances and the responses from the ever-growing crowds. I'd say that you don't even need to be a Dan Reed Network or Tyketto fan to appreciate the show. My partner joined me for tonight's show and though she was familiar with one or two of the better-known classics, it was the overall vibe and the strength of the deeper cuts which impressed her more than anything.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by

Reed and Vaughn make a low-key entrance to the stage, where two stools and two guitars await them. For the next two plus hours, they treat the crowd to a selection of songs that translate superbly to a new format. The Dan Reed Network songs include 'Rainbow Child', 'Champion' and a powerful rendition of 'Mix It Up'. These sit nicely next to Reed's solo material, including 'Smile', 'Only Love', 'Distant Star' and 'Promised Land'. He has the ability to delve into his back catalogue at will and even if he forgets some of the words, the "witches of the forest" are always on hand to help out (you had to be there). Vaughn can call on some memorable Tyketto songs, such as 'The Last Sunset' and 'Lay Your Body Down', whilst emphasising how strong the more recent studio recordings are with heartfelt versions of 'Reach', 'Circle The Wagons' and 'Letting Go'. The pair work in tandem, regardless of whose song they are performing, and the vocals and harmonising are both passionate and sublime. Another highlight is a brand-new song, their first co-write ("51% mine" Reed cheekily suggests), called 'Where The Water Goes'. Both are very busy, but I really hope this is the first of many that the two write together. The relaxed atmosphere allows for between song story-telling and this adds greatly to the attraction. A lively rendition of Dan Reed Network's 'Get To You' brings things to a close too quickly and I don't think anyone in attendance wants it to end.

Being a fan of both artists, whether solo or as front-man of a band, I can say with hand on heart that I was blown away. There were many goose-bump moments throughout the show and speaking to both Reed and Vaughn afterwards, it was clear that even they thought it was a special night. The Snake Oil & Harmony endeavour tends to be an annual event, but I don't think I can wait twelve more months. If they have even more new material to showcase, then it will be one of the must-see gigs in 2019. Fingers crossed it does not take that long.

Dave Bott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 6 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 6000 album reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : Saxon, Gizmodrome, Skid Row, Night Ranger, Magnum, Joe Bonamassa & many more! Check out the latest LIVE reviews on Rocktopia! «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by