Concert Reviews

Magnum / Rebecca Downes Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 10, 2018    
0.0 (0)
1654   0   1   0   0   0



Magnum / Rebecca Downes - The Picturedome, Holmfirth (UK) - 24 February 2018

The last time I saw Rebecca Downes I only managed to catch the end of her set, so I was determined to see the whole show this time around. The Picturedrome was probably ninety per cent full when Downes took to the stage with her band of Steve Birkett (lead guitar and backing vocals), Rick Benton (keys and Hammond organ), Dan Clark (bass guitar) and Lloyd Daker (drums). The diminutive Downes had an impressive, powerful voice with quite the range and there was a mutual appreciation between the crowd and herself. Highlights of the forty-five minute set were 'Night Train', 'Sailing On A Fool Of Tears', 'Believe' and 'Back To The Start'.

It was fantastic to see a capacity crowd of over six hundred Magnum fans be there to witness this UK National Treasure take the stage; with twenty albums now in their back catalogue, choosing a set-list which will please all their legion of fans is now a near-on impossible task. Bob Catley might not possess the vocal range he once had, however, he is far from over the hill and with the quality of the sound, which is normally afforded to artists at The Picturedrome, put in a more than decent performance.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

I'm always interested to hear which songs a band chooses and then the order that these songs are played in. In football terms, this was definitely a game of two halves; the first being devoted to material from albums released since their reformation at the beginning of the millennium and the second being the Classic era. They had no need to go big from the offset as the audience were all diehard fans to start with. The loss of Harry James (drums) and Mark Stanway (keyboards) could have seen the band diminished, however, the introduction of Lee Morris (drums) and Rick Benton (keyboards) appeared to have given Magnum a new vigour; the same can be said for the songs from the new album, which included the excellent title-track 'Lost On The Road To Eternity', 'Peaches & Cream', 'Show Me Your Hands' and the pick of the bunch 'Without Love'. As good as all these songs were, the atmosphere seemed to notch-up a couple of levels starting with the one-two combination of 'How Far Jerusalem' and 'Les Morts Dansant' from the groundbreaking 'On A Storyteller's Night' opus which is now thirty-three years old! Tony Clarkin – song-writer extraordinaire – and bassist Al Barrow completed the line-up of this extremely tight band.

The final three songs which closed the main set were simply jaw-dropping: 'All Englan''s Eyes', 'Vigilante' and the epic 'Don't Wake The Lion (Too Old To Die Young)' with the latter being worth the entrance fee alone – it was simply breathtaking. The band left the stage briefly before they then returned for a deserved two-song encore. Any lingering thoughts that this was not a diehard audience were dispelled with the reaction to 'The Spirit', the oldest song played this evening from their awesome 1982 album 'Chase The Dragon'. That just left time for 'When The World Comes Down' to bring a magnificent show to a close.

Review by Mark Donnelly, photo by Andy Brailsford

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 4 days, 6 hours ago
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!
  • Rocktopia Te : EXCLUSIVE Guild Of Ages music video premiere! Check out «link» ! Did you like the video? Please send us your comments!
  • Berny : Check out the new live reviews: http;//

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site