Robert Reed - 'Sanctuary Live (Real World Studios 2016)'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 11, 2018    
0.0 (0)
150   0   1   0   0   0

Some of the finest musicians you'll see anywhere playing wonderful pieces of music.

Those of you who regularly read my reviews will know that I'm a huge fan of the music created by Magenta, Chimpan A and Kompendium multi-instrumentalist, composer and producer Robert (Rob) Reed. I've had the pleasure of talking with him about his Sanctuary project, and during an interview for this very publication, he mentioned that he was putting together a group of musicians to perform both 'Sanctuary I & II' at Peter Gabriel's Real World Studios near Bath, and here it finally is.

For those who are interested, this isn't a full production stage show, instead, we get an intimate performance played in front of a small group fans who are devotees of Reed's musical escapades. This intimacy also has a magical quality to it, something that transfers into the music and band performances, and although visually there isn't much going on, musically we get the world.

On the 'Sanctuary' albums, apart from a couple of instruments, Reed plays everything. However, for this recording, he's joined by world class musicians who help to bring his vision to fruition. These include Chris Fry and Martin Shellard (guitars), Dan Nelson (bass), Jonathan "Jiffy" Griffiths (drums) and Simon Brittlebank (percussion), while the keyboards are ably handled by Reed himself who is supported by Tim Lewis and Nigel Hopkins. If these superb musicians weren't enough to get excited about, there's also the added bonus of Fran Murphy, Lorraine King and Ffion Wilkins of the vocal group Synergy (who are joined by Magenta's own Christina Booth) to appreciate, while the lead vocals are handled by the awesome Angharad Brinn.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The show opens with little fanfare as the band walk on stage, and due to Reed's self-deprecating nature, there is little banter with the crowd; however, this might have been lost in the editing. Instead, they launch into 'Sanctuary Part One' where we're treated to over twenty minutes of superbly played, written and arranged instrumental Folk/Prog Rock in the vein of early Mike Oldfield but with Reed's clever and subtle musical twists. The musical standout moments are many during this performance, but for me personally, it's the guitar interplay between Reed, Shellard and Fry that captivate the most. These three men play up a storm and on the visual evidence here are having a ball as they do so. As first part finishes, Robert Reed quietly introduces 'Part Two' of which only a small part of the suite is played.

This is followed by the second half of the show and we get the full 'Sanctuary II Parts One & Two', and again, it's almost fifty minutes plus of spellbinding music that's played by musicians who really seem to care just how this music is performed. Rounding the concert off is a stunning rendition of 'Willow's Song' where Brinn gets the opportunity to show just what a stunning voice she has.

This DVD/CD package might not have a big budget, or a stage show to take your breath away, but it does have some of the finest musicians you'll see anywhere playing wonderful pieces of music that were written by a man who has a passion for composing music that captivates and enthrals the listener/watcher from the first to the last note played.

Ian Johnson

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 4 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us