The Rolling Stones - 'Olé Olé Olé'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 11, 2018    
0.0 (0)
121   0   1   0   0   0





The Rolling Stones once sang "It's Only Rock 'N' Roll"... No, where these guys are concerned, it's much more than that.

There will never be another band as big as The Rolling Stones. No other act will ever reach the same level of success on such a consistent basis for such a long period of time because, even fifty-plus years into their astonishing career, they are still breaking down barriers and finding new ways to enhance their status.

Such is the premise of this brilliant documentary that follows The Stones on a tour through Latin America, while at the same time revealing the behind-the-scenes arrangements as they attempt to organise a groundbreaking once-in-a-lifetime free show in Havana, Cuba, something the country had previously never experienced thanks to the rulings of the previous military dictatorship. The cultures of each individual country that have been inspirational to their music are explored, with plenty of input from fans who reveal what The Stones mean to them – Argentina, in particular, is notable where their adoration is so palpable it's reminiscent of the sixties when Rock 'n' Roll was still a new experience.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The interviews portray the whole band as a very down-to-earth group of individuals, with Keith Richards in particular (somebody who has had his fair share of ridicule in the past) coming across extremely eloquent and humble, while also revealing how important the special chemistry between himself and Mick Jagger is and how it has survived even though they've had their fair share of "squabbles" over the years – this culminates in a fantastic segment where the duo run through an acoustic version of 'Honky Tonk Women' backstage and explain how the song was first conceived in Brazil.

It's all set, naturally, to a great soundtrack of Stones classics, but I felt a certain twinge of poignancy when I heard the snippet of '(This Could Be) The Last Time' as with their advancing years it's highly probable that such a monumental tour might never be undertaken by these guys again. In addition to the numerous live excerpts, the DVD is bolstered with amazing full performances of 'Out Of Control', 'Paint It Black', '...Women', 'Sympathy For The Devil', 'You Got The Silver', 'Midnight Rambler' and 'Miss You' that all show the band still capable of entertaining at the highest level, truly belying their age.

The Rolling Stones once sang "It's Only Rock 'N' Roll"... No, where these guys are concerned, it's much more than that.

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 4 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us