Blues Pills - 'Lady In Gold Live In Paris'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 11, 2018    
0.0 (0)
148   0   1   0   0   0

The strength of the show itself is enough to recommend.

Blues Pills, at last, have finally released a DVD worthy of their legendary live performances. Recorded in Paris at La Trianon in front of 1200 fans, this captures the true essence of the band's amazing live shows and their connection with the audience.

The DVD begins as the band leaves their hotel, arrives at the venue and comes alive on the stage. Elin Larsson will always be the focal point of the band; barefoot, twisting and turning around the stage. It's surprising she has any breath to sing. Her voice one moment a whisper, the next a banshee scream as she jolts back and forth towards the audience.

Guitarist Dorian Sorriaux still emits an image of tranquillity as he plays his furious Blues-based licks on songs such as 'Little Sun' and 'Little Boy Preacher', and in my opinion, it truly makes him one of the most accomplished up and coming guitar players around. Maybe the band have yet to find their signature song, though there are plenty of contenders; 'High Class Women' and 'Devil Man' have become two songs that have blossomed into live classics over the time.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The rhythm section of Zack Anderson on bass guitar and Andre Kvarnstrom on drums play up a storm throughout the show, especially during 'Black Smoke', with head-down concentration, driving the band along like a juggernaut. Alone at the piano for 'I Felt A Change', Larsson puts her personal soulfulness into the song, part Carole King, part Stevie Nicks, and it is one of their more ambitious tracks to date. Having Rickard Nygren added to the touring line-up on keyboards and second guitar has given the band a live sound with a whole new dimension. Special mention should go to Julie Rohart, whose use of camera angles lends a lot to the wonderful raw image of the band in the live arena.

Maybe some in-depth interviews or rehearsal footage would have made this release a little more exciting, though the strength of the show itself is enough to recommend.

Ray Paul

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 4 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us