Salva - 'Sigh Of Boreas'

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 14, 2018    
0.0 (0)
88   0   1   0   0   0






If you like your music eclectic, you will probably like this.

When I first got this, I couldn't help myself thinking about adding an extra "i" to the band's name. Joking aside, I'd never heard of them but the info I had been given about them was that they were a mixture of Progressive and Symphonic Rock which meant they should be of interest to me.

I didn't really know what to expect and a quick look at the list of songs, of which there are only six, told me that the shortest was almost seven minutes long, so I thought I knew what to expect and, I have to admit, that on the first listen I wasn't too impressed. The title track is over fifteen minutes long and reminded me very much of Rick Wakeman, particularly his 'King Arthur' material, but with addition of Metal guitars.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

On said first listen, the lead guitar and vocals were a little low in the mix but a bit of tinkering with the equalizer soon sorted this. The track that follows, 'Elite', starts out as a proper Metal track, almost Opeth-ish, before going all Middle Eastern and then half way through it transforms into Syd Barrett era Pink Floyd before returning to the heavier style. 'Gone II' has touches of Yes and The Flower Kings and features some really neat keyboard sequencing. At six and a half minutes long 'Wings' is the shortest track on offer with the vocals having touches of James Hetfield (in places) in what would best be described as the "ballady one" with some nice harmonies but a more "in-your-face" finale. 'Queuetopia' is a slightly more up-tempo song, again featuring some nice sequencing, while 'Closed Casket' has an almost an occasional Jazzy vibe which is a bit of a juxtaposition when you consider the song's sombre subject matter (death) and then, when you least expect it, some Reggae.

This took a few listens to get into as there are many genres squeezed into it, to the extent that you are not quite sure what you have just been listening to when it's done. The vocals could be improved in various areas, (there are effects on there that shouldn't be) and there's no real virtuoso playing so nobody stands out, the whole thing coming over as a band effort, which is probably a good thing. If you like your music eclectic, you will probably like this.

Andy Brailsford

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 4 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us