CD Reviews

Ayreon - 'Universe: The Best Of Ayreon Live' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 15, 2018    
0.0 (0)
3415   0   1   0   0   0

This is simply sensational!

Amazingly, just six months after the three scheduled shows were filmed in Tilburg, this multi-format collection is now released. My promos are downloads, but I have no doubt the album's packaging will be comprehensive, living up to the usual Arjen Lucassen standard. Certainly, the show lacks for nothing with lighting, back projections, LED screens, flames, fireworks and a CO2 effect all being utilised. Being old school, I love seeing keyboard player Joost van den Broek surrounded by a phalanx of different instruments, including a proper Hammond Organ. Mention also has to be made of the rest of the superb band who perform wonderfully throughout; Marcel Coenen (lead guitar), Ferry Duijsens (guitar), Johan van Stratum (bass) and the inimitable Ed Warby (drums) providing the perfect platform. Rob Snijders puts in a couple of appearances on drums too.

Twenty-eight songs, sixteen vocalists and filmed using thirty cameras, this is an extravaganza that includes extensive extra material such as interviews, a documentary and footage of a try-out show performed a few weeks earlier. Each Ayreon album is represented, including the most recent 'The Source', plus a few favourites from one of Lucassen's other enterprises � Star One. There's very little time wasted as one track quickly and slickly follows another with vocalists coming and going in rapid succession.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

One of my favourite moments is when Floor Jansen (Nightwish), Anneke van Giersbergen (The Gentle Storm) and Marcela Bovio (Stream Of Passion) combine for a superb rendition of 'Valley Of The Queens' which takes the bombast quotient down significantly. Indeed, Bovio and fellow backing vocalists Irene Jansen and Lisette van den Berg are pivotal to the show as they flesh out the vocals in sensational fashion, often doubling up with the lead singers. This is particularly evident on the splendid 'Ride The Comet' where they support Maggy Luyten (Nightmare). The following 'Star Of Sirrah' is equally impressive with no less than four lead vocalists appearing.

One of my chosen Ayreon songs, 'Comatose', is present and it has a spine-tingling quality, as does Damian Wilson's performance on 'And The Druids Turned To Stone', while Tommy Karevik (Kamelot) receives a huge reception as he arrives on stage to deliver a terrific 'Into The Black Hole'. The trio of Ben Mathot (violin), Jeroen Goossens (flute) and Maaike Peterse (cello) make telling contributions, not least alongside Edward Reekers (Kayak) on the delicate 'Actual Fantasy'. Reekers remains for the following song 'Computer Eyes' where he duets with Robert Soeterboek; it's another standout moment amongst so many.

Suffice to say Lucassen, who appears late in the piece, and his cohorts have delivered an absolute masterpiece of a show with everyone clearly relishing their involvement � this is simply sensational!

Gary Marshall

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 8 hours, 5 minutes ago
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site