Concert Reviews

Joe Bonamassa (2018) Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 21, 2018    
0.0 (0)
431   0   1   0   0   0

Joe Bonamassa - GE Oil & Gas Arena, Aberdeen (UK) - 13 March 2018

Welcome To Nerdville, the Joe Bonamassa Blues train keeps on rolling and we are in the middle of a seven date UK arena tour that has been billed as the "Guitar Event Of The Year", and as the house lights go down bang on 8pm, the always shaded and suited Bonamassa hits us with four brand new songs, foolhardy, genius or arrogance, it doesn't matter as the audience lap it up. Opener 'King Bee Shakedown' sees Bonamassa sliding his Strat like there's no tomorrow, 'Evil Mama' follows before he plays 'Just Because You Can', which says everything about playing four unreleased songs straight out of the traps.

Joe Bonamassa - Live 1

The Albert King song 'I Get Evil' sees Bonamassa strap on a Flying V and then, for me, it is the highlight of the evening, the pairing of two songs from his most recent release 'Blues Of Desperation', the magnificent 'No Good Place For The Lonely' and 'How Deep This River Runs' – one word comes to mind... epic.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by

With band introductions out of the way, 'Slow Train' follows and it finds backing singers Juanita Tippins and Jade Macrae, and saxophonist Paulie Cerra taking the lion's share of the vocals. 'Driving Towards The Daylight' leads us into the first of two Led Zeppelin covers, the Honky-Tonk Barroom piano sound of 'Boogie With Stu' and 'How Many More Times' which sees the band stripped down to the basics of Bonamassa, bassist Michael Rhodes, drummer Anton Fig and piano/organist Reese Wynans. Placed in between the Zep songs is 'Last Kiss' with its railroad drum shuffle, gritty guitar riffs and Hammond Organ flourishes.

Joe Bonamassa - Live 2

Two hours gone and as the encore of 'Hummingbird' soars around the arena, another Joe Bonamassa show is over. However, with a new album out by the end of the year, it won't be long before he graces these shores again. Go see him. That's an order!

Cat O'Brien

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 6 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 6000 album reviews on Rocktopia!
  • Berny : Saxon, Gizmodrome, Skid Row, Night Ranger, Magnum, Joe Bonamassa & many more! Check out the latest LIVE reviews on Rocktopia! «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


The Rocktopia website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our privacy policy.

I accept cookies from this site.
EU Cookie Directive plugin by