YES - 'Topographic Drama: Live Across America' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 25, 2018    
0.0 (0)
5731   0   1   0   0   0






A great live set.

This was always going to be a tricky album for me to review. I've been a diehard Yes fan since 1981 and my favourite album is 1980's 'Drama' which was the first album that Jon Anderson did not sing on, moreover, keyboardist Rick Wakeman had also left at the same time to be replaced by Geoff Downes of The Buggles. Consequently, Yes purists were not too fond of the album, however, said purists generally love the 1973 'Tales From Topographic Oceans' double album, which I tended to find over pretentious even for a Progressive album – hence my dilemma!

This live album was recorded from various shows during the group's 2016 US tour and long-time collaborator Roger Dean has designed another awesome cover. The line-up features Yes stalwarts Steve Howe on guitar and Alan White on drums (although ex-Unruly Child and Hurricane sticks-man Jay Schellen substitutes on certain tracks as White was absent due to back surgery). Downes had been back in the fold for a few years, while Glass Hammer's Jon Davison also joined several years previous. Bassist Billy Sherwood was asked to (re)join by Chris Squire just before he sadly passed away in 2015. Again, a lot of Yes diehards disapprove of this line-up and social media forums are awash with discussions around why are they still performing under the Yes banner? Personally, I'm not interested in the politics, I just want to hear the classic music of Yes and this release provides it in droves.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The album begins with 'Drama' being played in full and wow... it sounds superb. 'Machine Messiah' has wonderful harmonies from Davison and Sherwood, and Howe's guitar work is impeccable. Sherwood's bass playing on 'Does It Really Happen?' is stupendous! Downes shows his dexterity whilst tinkling the ivories during 'Into The Lens'. The first disc ends with Yes classics 'And You And I' (all four parts from 1972's 'Close To The Edge) and 'Heart Of The Sunrise' (from 1971's 'Fragile'). Both tracks sound fantastic and the level of musicianship is astounding especially the harmonies.

The second disc opens with 'The Revealing Science Of God' or side 1 of the original '...Oceans' release and I must admit after several listens this has really grown on me. Davison's vocals are similar to Anderson's whilst retaining some individuality and Downes replicates the keyboard parts very well. We then move to side three of '...Oceans' and the 'Leaves Of Green' (a section from 'The Ancient (Giants Under The Sun)' track). Howe shows us what a fine acoustic guitar player he is and once again there are some fine vocals from Davison and Sherwood. 'Ritual (Nous Sommes Du Soleil)', from side four of '...Oceans', is up next and this is a fine rendition with Davison, Howe and White (or Schellen?) shining. I freely admit, it's taken thirty-six years for '...Oceans' to earn my respect; now I shall have to go and revisit the original album in full!

The staples of 'Roundabout' and 'Starship Trooper' (all three parts) are the show's encores and they both sound superb. Overall, in my humble opinion, this is a great live set, it surpasses my expectations and I can't wait for the fiftieth anniversary shows next spring; sadly, this will likely be the cue for the naysayers to moan about no original members!

Az Chaudhry

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  November 2021  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month ago
  • Deeppurple#1 : Hi,I downloaded my free copy of issue #87 but I can't seem to open the file. Any advice?
  • Berny : RIP Alan Lancaster! :(
  • Berny : @Barneypippa: I forwarded your mail to the Fireworks team. You should receive a reply asap.
  • Barneypippa : My magazine (#96) hasnt arrived yet - should have been here last week
  • Rocktopia Te : @bakerstreetish: Pls. check your email for download instructions.
  • bakerstreeti : Hi, I just bought digital download #96. How will I be able to receive/access it? First time on this site. Thanks!
  • zom414 : Have they been posted out yet? Not received mine yet but may have the release date wrong!
  • Johns Band : Received glossy Fireworks 96 and one of best ever. I am still looking at pictures and "Revisit The Gods AOR Festive" should be great. Probably get download from issue 101 to save on space & it is read to me from audio voice. Already got Robben Ford Instrumental album "Pure" great stuff & Freddy King singing & guitar I love, so Bernie Marsden new album I will have on Amazon Prime. If you are into 70's Rock then new Help Yourself 6 CD Boxset + info will be good for you plus expert to pay no more
  • Berny : Fireworks #96 is out now! :)
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Pls. check your email!
  • Paul wiv : I have paid for issue 92 but it hasn't downloaded yet.
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich hätte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!
  • Hysteria : GREAT MAGAZINE! Keep on rockin' guys!!!
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #95 is out now!
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Many thanks for your purchase, pls. check your mail.
  • Paul wiv : I have bought issue 89 on download but it has not appeared on my account
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu
  • Berny : @Adolfo: I've also just sent you the magazine via WeTransfer. But please check you junk mail folder, the mail was definitely sent earlier today.
  • Berny : Hi @Adolfo: Have you already checked your spam folder? If the mail cannot be found, pls. contact me at «email»
  • Adolfo : «email»
  • Adolfo : My e - mail
  • Adolfo : I don't have any e - mail.
  • Berny : @Adolfo: Pls. check your e - mail for download instructions.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site