CD Reviews

Shakra - 'Back On Track' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     February 27, 2011    
0.0 (0)
8262   0   1   0   0   0





Ultra solid hard rock on the cusp of metal.

Wrought from the same AC/DC patented blast furnace steel that half a dozen years previously had also produced fellow Swiss contenders Gotthard, Berne based hard rockers Shakra exploded into our collective consciousness with their self titled debut as long ago as 1998. Boisterous and exuberant, yet blessed with a self assured confidence rare in a new band, the jungle telegraph (already wowed by Gotthard) soon began to resonate to their particular beat … and to be honest the band have barely looked back since.

Early support slots with the likes of Uriah Heep helped them hone their stage craft in front of ever more appreciative crowds, whilst the addition of vocalist Mark Fox for 2003's bruising 'Rising' album took everything to the next musical level ... hell, for much of the first half of the last decade they were to all intents and purposes more Gotthard than Gotthard, and at one point it even looked as if they were poised to steal top spot from Lugano's favourite sons. However, ever since Gotthard hit the hard rock comeback trail with a vengeance on 2005's 'Lipservice' opus, Shakra seem to have made an effort (be it conscious or otherwise) to steer themselves in a distinctly darker direction in order to establish a more instantly recognizable identity of their own.

The sudden departure of the aforementioned Mark Fox soon after the release of 'Everest' in 2009 winded them briefly, but after auditioning numerous potential replacements for the erstwhile vocalist's spot, they eventually settled on Indian born John Prakesh. Seemingly stronger than ever with their new frontman now firmly embedded in the band, Shakra are about to hit back at all the doubters with a brand new studio opus … the appropriately titled 'Back On Track'.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Driven by the now oh so familiar blazing twin guitar attack of Thom Blunier and Thomas Muster, my initial thought was that the line up change had made the band hungrier than ever. Prakesh has slotted into the band almost seamlessly, his broad range and bluesy rasp adding extra depth to the bands material. Sometimes the downtuned riffs and no compromise approach the band err towards these days can be a tad tiresome, not to mention inaccessible – if I'm honest, opener 'B True B You' is a prime example, and one of the poorest songs on the album (quite why they chose to open with it instead of the pulsating title track is a mystery) – but when they do settle into a more melodic groove (as on the likes of 'Crazy' or 'When I See You' for instance), the results are uniformly strong and consistent.

There's plenty of variety pace wise to keep things interesting (pleasingly, often within the confines of a single song), and as I said earlier, even in their darkest of moments new boy Prakesh injects plenty of emotion and melody. Not an instant fix by any means, it took me a while but after a dozen or so spins 'Back On Track' is really starting to get under my skin in a good way – ultra solid hard rock on the cusp of metal, which for the most part successfully harnesses the passion of the former and the power of the latter. Good effort guys.

Dave Cockett

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  November 2021  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 19 hours ago
  • vialli999 : forget that last comment i found it....der
  • vialli999 : sorry but i must be really stupid how do i take out a subscription ?
  • vialli999 : I have the download i want a paper copy cheers tel
  • Berny : @vialli999: You get issue 90 from our download store. Would you like to purchase a physical copy?
  • Berny : You can pre - order FIREWORKS MAGAZINE #97 now!
  • Deeppurple#1 : Hi,I downloaded my free copy of issue #87 but I can't seem to open the file. Any advice?
  • Berny : RIP Alan Lancaster! :(
  • Berny : @Barneypippa: I forwarded your mail to the Fireworks team. You should receive a reply asap.
  • Barneypippa : My magazine (#96) hasnt arrived yet - should have been here last week
  • Rocktopia Te : @bakerstreetish: Pls. check your email for download instructions.
  • bakerstreeti : Hi, I just bought digital download #96. How will I be able to receive/access it? First time on this site. Thanks!
  • zom414 : Have they been posted out yet? Not received mine yet but may have the release date wrong!
  • Johns Band : Received glossy Fireworks 96 and one of best ever. I am still looking at pictures and "Revisit The Gods AOR Festive" should be great. Probably get download from issue 101 to save on space & it is read to me from audio voice. Already got Robben Ford Instrumental album "Pure" great stuff & Freddy King singing & guitar I love, so Bernie Marsden new album I will have on Amazon Prime. If you are into 70's Rock then new Help Yourself 6 CD Boxset + info will be good for you plus expert to pay no more
  • Berny : Fireworks #96 is out now! :)
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Pls. check your email!
  • Paul wiv : I have paid for issue 92 but it hasn't downloaded yet.
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich hätte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!
  • Hysteria : GREAT MAGAZINE! Keep on rockin' guys!!!
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #95 is out now!
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Many thanks for your purchase, pls. check your mail.
  • Paul wiv : I have bought issue 89 on download but it has not appeared on my account
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site