CD Reviews

Cheap Trick - 'The Latest' Hot

Added by James Gaden     February 17, 2010    
0.0 (0)
5079   0   1   0   0   0


17th release from the Rockford based pop rockers.


Those hardy perennials of pop rock have done it again. After 2006’s excellent ‘Rockford’, Cheap Trick have unleashed another cracker - possibly even their finest since 1985’s sublime ‘Standing on the Edge.’

Never afraid to plough their own furrow, Cheap Trick have proved beyond doubt the ‘majors’ don’t matter, releasing ‘The Latest’ on their own terms and their own label. Quality is never compromised and the contributor’s credentials on ‘The Latest’ are the first clue to what lies in store, with Julian Raymond from the criminally underrated ‘Dear Mr President’ sharing production credits, whilst Roger Joseph Manning Jr from the equally underrated Jellyfish makes a guest appearance on keyboards.

And the album itself? Absolutely gorgeous. From start to finish, Zander, Nielsen, Carlos and Petersson never put a foot wrong. The somnambulistic ‘Sleep Forever’ gives way to the gloriously infectious ‘When the Lights Go Out’ – 3 minutes 26 seconds of total pop perfection. But just when you think they may have prematurely peaked, ‘Miss Tomorrow’ clearly states the band’s intentions. Lush harmonies, beautifully underpinning orchestrations. How can it get any better than this? But of course it does. Cheap Trick are masters of their craft and like a perfect meal, know not to overface the listener, but whet their appetite with short, sweet and perfectly formed compositions. Before you even realize it, you’re six tracks in and onto ‘The Miracle’ – though the real miracle is how after more than 30 years this band can produce something as stunning as this. Like a lemon sorbet midway through the meal, ‘Everyday You Make Me Crazy’ is the ideal 77 second refresher, followed by the twist and shake sensibilities of ‘California Girl’ and the beatlesque (what did you expect – this is Cheap Trick after all) ‘Everybody Knows.’

The raucous rock and roll of ‘Alive’ gives way to album highlight ‘Times Of Our Lives’ – which is clearly, from the evidence on display, what these boys are having. Then it’s back into ‘Beatles’ territory, with the Lennon/McCartney comparisons nowhere more evident than on ‘Closer – The Ballad Of Burt And Linda.’ And finally, the appropriately titled ballad ‘Smile,’ which is precisely what this album leaves you with, beaming like the proverbial Cheshire Cat.

In short, more essential than water and a true contender for album of the year.



Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (1)add comment

Alan Gilmour said:

I have been a long standing Cheap Trick fan since the 70's who in recent years have thought the band were slowly winding down to retirement . But how wrong I was ,this album is quite simply up there with the best they have ever produced . If this had been released but a more fashionable up and coming band this would be HUGE . If you were thinking of buying this , then think no more , this is a must have album .
May 31, 2010
Votes: +1

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 5 hours ago
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site