The Gathering / Habitants Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     July 12, 2018    
0.0 (0)
2271   0   1   0   0   0

The Gathering / Habitants - Doornroosje, Nijmegen (The Netherlands) - 22 June 2018

Four years on from their 25th anniversary, Dutch band The Gathering returned to the stage once again in their hometown Nijmegen (in the Netherlands) where they delivered a memorable show and also introduced René and Hans Rutten's new musical project – Habitants.

Habitants Live

The latter opened the show with a one hour set that featured songs from their debut album 'One Self', which was due out a week after the show. They performed a very clear, atmospheric and melodic set and were fronted by Anne van den Hoogen. She is already known for being the lead singer of the Dutch band Rosemary & Garlic and has also sung for The Gathering on 'The West Pole' album in 2009. Among the nice songs played by Habitants, I deeply appreciated the two early-released ones, 'Meraki' and 'Jupiter', and I felt very emotional during 'Magnolia'. I eventually listened to the whole album when it came out and it's a success. I love it and can only suggest to anyone reading this review that they give it a try!

The Gathering Live 1

The Gathering played a very interesting set with a few songs that have rarely been played live, which included opener 'Black Light District' and 'Paralyzed'. It was such a pleasure to see some classics as well like 'Paper Waves', 'Probably Built In The Fifties' and 'Heroes For Ghosts'. Silje Wergeland was absolutely stunning and she sang with such a powerful voice that I didn't expect having listened to the studio records! Both "covered" songs from Anneke van Giersbergen's era and new ones (the album 'Disclosure' was massively represented with five songs) were perfectly mastered.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

A simple LED screen hung behind the stage and displayed animations during the songs. I am traditionally not into these LED screens, but this time I have to say that it fitted in perfectly well with the atmospheric ambiance on stage. The whole crowd were captivated over one hour and thirty minutes, punctuated with cute moments of discussion with the band. It was easy to notice that they were playing at home and that they were happy to be back on stage. The last song, 'I Can See Four Miles', propelled us out of this venue with a fabulous quiet drums bridge that lead to the final explosion.

The Gathering Live 2

I think I was among the youngest people in the crowd as The Gathering are not a new band and everybody looked pretty familiar with them, their music and even the (very modern) venue. I was very surprised to see how "convivial" the atmosphere was; the whole evening was very pleasant and everyone seemed to be into the music. It all appeared as if it was the audience's friends that were on stage and that the people who were in attendance had been following them for decades. It was the first time for me seeing The Gathering perform live and it was such a nice moment, far above my expectations. I can unconditionally contest the fact that they were the precursors of a new music kind. Over their last few records with Wergeland as lead vocalist, they have produced a more atmospheric type of music than the more Alternative and Progressive styled sound with their former singer van Giersbergen. I have deeply appreciated their talent and the emotions they have delivered in each studio record, all of which I could feel on stage as well. The Gathering announced a mini tour through Greece and Bulgaria during the fall, and I hope they'll come back on stage in west Europa very soon. I feel very glad having finally had the chance to see them perform live after having to wait four long years.

Julien Marbaix

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 2 hours ago
  • SeaDog57 : Thanks again Berny
  • Berny : Hi SeaDog57: Apologies!Password can be found in the forum, link was (again) added to the "Fireworks" menu.
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; need a download link for #86 and the pg number for the Code
  • Berny : @Siodmark: Pls. check your mail! Apologies for the troubles, we hope you enjoy the magazine! :)
  • Siodmak : Hello guys! Purchased FIREWORKS #86 and paid by my paypal, but there is no download link on my account. Can you please help me? tnks ; - )
  • Hombre 444 : Got mine reading it now,best Rock Mag out on Market by far.
  • Berny : Fireworks #86 is out now!
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site