Glass Tiger - '31' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     November 24, 2018    
0.0 (0)
4220   0   1   0   0   0






A supreme re-imagining of some classic songs.

Formed in 1983, Canada's Glass Tiger have achieved multi-platinum status in their homeland, mostly thanks to the popularity of their debut record 'The Thin Red Line', but here in the UK, they're predominantly known for their hit single 'Don't Forget Me (When I'm Gone)'. Following another two highly successful albums, the group went on hiatus in 1993, but reformed ten years later and have been active ever since, still including original members Alan Frew (vocals), Sam Reid (keyboards), Al Connelly (guitar) and Wayne Parker (bass).

The band intended to write and record an album of brand-new material to coincide with the 30th anniversary of their debut, but unfortunately, the project was put on hold to let Frew recover from a stroke. However, they eventually entered the studio and '31' is the end result, the title obviously referring to the number of years between their breakthrough and the studio sessions that yielded the record.

Though essentially a "greatest hits" collection, all of the songs have been completely re-recorded, relinquishing the dated eighties sound and embellishing them with an acoustically-driven, distinctly Celtic Folk feel, something that has always been prevalent in Glass Tiger's music but not quite to this extent. Completely instigated and overseen by Scottish Country artist Johnny Reid, the re-imagining works brilliantly and breathes new life into some classic songs, and stripping away the eighties-sounding production in favour of a more organic approach actually makes you take more notice of the lyrics. In addition, Frew's vocals sound amazing, and he seemingly shows no signs of his recent health scare.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

While the likes of 'Don't Forget Me (When I'm Gone)', 'My Town', 'Diamond Sun', 'Someday' and 'I'm Still Searchin'' really benefit from the jaunty, Folk approach ('My Song' being very similar to the original), 'I Will Be There' and 'Healing Hands' are vastly improved from the originals by being transformed into heart-wrenching ballads, the slide-guitar textures adding a distinct Country sound. 'Thin Red Line' (featuring a guest vocal from Julian Lennon) is completely unrecognisable with the stunning new version being stripped down into a haunting, sparse ballad. This release also includes two new tracks, 'Fire It Up' and 'Wae Yer Family', the latter a really uplifting earworm of a tune, thus making '31' a worthwhile purchase.

It's a little lighter than what we normally feature in 'Fireworks', but it's wonderfully melodic, feel-good music and that's really all that matters. This is a supreme re-imagining of some classic songs.

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 4 days, 10 hours ago
  • Berny : @Hysteria & @KI2000: Many thanks for your kind words! :)
  • Hysteria : Received my download copy almost immediately and downloaded 50 magazines for free. Cannot complain! Thanks guys!!!
  • KI2000 : Love the new issue guys, great magazine!
  • Berny : @Mugi89: Your confirmation mail was sent on the 22nd, I've just sent it again. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • Mugi89 : Hi! I purchased my digital copy of issue 92 2 days ago but still didn't receive it. When am I gonna be able to download it? thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Your mail was forwarded to the Fireworks team yesterday, I am going to ask them again. Sorry for the delay!
  • Berny : @Mitch Perry: Your order was received at 4AM local time. As stated on the order page, all payments have to be processed manually. Your copy of Fireworks 92 was added to your download section, many thanks for the purchase.
  • Berny : @RobC68: I sent you two emails explaining the situation. There's not much more I can do for you at the moment, so I'd suggest you stop buying the magazine. Thanks.
  • zom414 : Still not received the latest issue by post, I've emailed as well but not heard anything. Can you let me know what's happening please?
  • Mitch Perry : Can I have my download link, please? Issue 92 22 Sep 2020 07:57:11 BST Paypal Transaction ID: 1BS38875MX3700248
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site