CD Reviews

Salute - 'Toy Soldier' Hot

Added by James Gaden     February 17, 2010    
0.0 (0)
6325   0   1   0   0   0





Classy AOR from a trio of Swedish rockers.


The album cover with its kid in a pilot’s uniform reminds you of a mix of Survivor’s debut, Nightranger’s ‘Seven Wishes’ and Bad Company’s ‘Here Comes Trouble’. While musically it’s not particularly similar to those artists it is alike in that it’s a classy slice of AOR.

Salute (a bonafide AOR name if ever there was one) are effectively a three piece made up of some of Sweden’s best rockers. Mikael Erlandsson you’ll recognise as the singer of Last Autumns Dream and his pipes are well suited to the brand of uplifting melodic rock on offer here. Martin Kronlund is guitarist and producer with Gypsy Rose and used to be in Dogface (a band I didn’t rate much more than their name). Drummer Imre Daun also joins him from Gypsy Rose. As seen in Gypsy Rose, Kronlund can pen a good rock tune and his strong rhythm guitar playing and melodic solos provide the rocking backbone to the record, but the real star is Erlandsson who sings his socks off throughout, wringing as much emotion as he can out of every line. He’s aided and abetted by big backing vocals that give the record its million dollar AOR sheen.

The choruses are of the type that sound likable on first listen but with repeated spins become lovable. Standout track ‘Dynamite’, with its fast tempo and infectious melody, takes you by the hands and spins you round and round until you’re dizzy. ‘Follow The Sun’ offers a change of pace on the record with it’s laidback Westcoast groove, and Erlandsson’s voice is measured and self-assured before a chorus kicks in that makes you want to emigrate to California immediately. ‘Running Away With You’ is another corking tune with a fab chorus redolent of Giant or Rainmaker. ‘Lost In A Dream’, ‘Steel Desire’, and ‘It’s My Time’ are all big production numbers with a large positive, “You can do anything.” vibe that inspires you in the way only this type of music (or a Rocky movie!) can. Even the ballad ‘Yesterday Always Been Gone’ manages to stay just the right side of the cheese counter.

With people constantly bemoaning the tragic state of the music industry I can’t believe that here in 2009 there are still so many terrific new AOR records coming out every month. With Salute the Escape label proves it can still be relied upon to unearth new classy AOR.

Duncan Jamieson


Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site