CD Reviews

Collateral - '4 Shots!' (EP) Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 27, 2018    
0.0 (0)
4352   0   1   0   0   0





The full debut album can't come quick enough!

The UK Rock scene is going through something of a renaissance at the moment, with a wealth of brilliant young bands vying for attention. The latest to throw their hat in the ring are Collateral, and their '4 Shots!' EP is a great introduction to what they have to offer.

Hailing from the Rock 'n' Roll Mecca that is Ramsgate in Kent, the four piece are Angelo Tristan (vocals, guitar), Todd Winger (guitar), Jack Bentley Smith (bass) and Ben Atkinson (drums), and were originally known as the Angelo Tristan band when they began five years ago, only altering their moniker to Collateral earlier in 2018. Seeing the photo of the guys that accompanied the EP, you would be forgiven that they would have a Sleaze/Glam Rock sound comparable to the likes of Mötley Crüe, Skid Row and Guns N' Roses, but the reality is so, so much better.

With this EP Collateral deliver '4 Shots!' of supremely crafted Melodic Rock that unashamedly pays homage to the Stadium Rock glory days of the eighties and early nineties, combining a thoroughly American sound that brings to mind prime-time Bon Jovi and Bryan Adams (you know, back when they actually made good music!) with a definite English flavour, while an acoustic guitar undercurrent that runs through all of the songs adds a distinct Tyketto vibe – something that will always get my approval. But what is key is the palpable sense of melody that pervades throughout – initially somewhat subtle, those melodies soon burrow into your subconsciousness and don't let go.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The mid-tempo opener 'Going With The Wind' demonstrates a grittier, dramatic sound and is probably the most "current" sounding song on the EP, while still bearing those wonderful eighties hallmarks, then the following 'Midnight Queen' is the polar opposite, being a lightweight but uptempo, bright 'n' breezy Rocker, perfectly blending Eagles-ish Country Rock with Bon Jovi circa the 'Lost Highway' album – irresistibly catchy and perfect as a debut single. 'Angels Crying' is the classic lighters-in-the-air Power ballad with some nice slide-guitar textures, and it actually also reminds me a little of Hinder in places (think 'Last Kiss Goodbye' or 'Red Tail Lights'), while 'Just Waiting For You' would also qualify as a ballad, though with a somewhat bluesier feel, but erupts into life with a distinctly 'Dry County'-ish fiery guitar solo from Todd Winger, who is mightily impressive throughout.

Though '4 Shots!' is a mere four songs, with it Collateral have demonstrated that they could have a very bright future ahead of them – the full debut album can't come quick enough!

Ant Heeks

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 15 hours ago
  • Hysteria : Received my download copy almost immediately and downloaded 50 magazines for free. Cannot complain! Thanks guys!!!
  • KI2000 : Love the new issue guys, great magazine!
  • Berny : @Mugi89: Your confirmation mail was sent on the 22nd, I've just sent it again. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • Mugi89 : Hi! I purchased my digital copy of issue 92 2 days ago but still didn't receive it. When am I gonna be able to download it? thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Your mail was forwarded to the Fireworks team yesterday, I am going to ask them again. Sorry for the delay!
  • Berny : @Mitch Perry: Your order was received at 4AM local time. As stated on the order page, all payments have to be processed manually. Your copy of Fireworks 92 was added to your download section, many thanks for the purchase.
  • Berny : @RobC68: I sent you two emails explaining the situation. There's not much more I can do for you at the moment, so I'd suggest you stop buying the magazine. Thanks.
  • zom414 : Still not received the latest issue by post, I've emailed as well but not heard anything. Can you let me know what's happening please?
  • Mitch Perry : Can I have my download link, please? Issue 92 22 Sep 2020 07:57:11 BST Paypal Transaction ID: 1BS38875MX3700248
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site