CD Reviews

Michael Bormann - 'Different' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 09, 2011    
0.0 (0)
3683   0   1   0   0   0




You cannot miss this incredible record.

Born in Duisburg, Germany, Michael Bormann has nowadays one of the most desirable voices on this planet. And believe me, I'm not exaggerating at all. When one writes a CD review, it's pretty common to magnify certain statements, so that the review has a bigger impact. Well, not in this case. I'm about to write about a man that is often chased after to either lend his gifted vocal chords for a particular project or collaborate somehow. 

Let's explore what's inside 'Different'. This incredible journey starts with the immensely catchy opener, 'Life Is A Miracle'. He already told me in his interview that even little kids ask him to play that song over and over. It's addictive to the max and will stay in your head for a long time. The second track is an explosion of good melodic hard rock that will definitely take you 'To The Top'. What a great start! And then you come to the conclusion that these are the waters where Bormann swims more comfortably. Knowing the trajectory of the vocalist, it's easy to see how this is exactly the type of sound that he ADORES. In fact, there are some similarities with his first solo album, especially if we focus on the more personal songs such as 'Somebody' or 'Don't You Tell Me'. Then there is this one song that I find particularly special: 'Mr Rock'n' Roll'. It may look simple at first, but then you realise how sometimes simple is better. People, you need to listen to that beat, that rhythm and that voice … altogether they have it all for me. As soon as I heard the first couple of verses, it put a mile wide smile on my face. I can visualise Michael marking the beat to the song with his foot. That swing that this song has is superb and I hope that you will appreciate this piece of art. So, I keep on walking on the wild side of the song that leads me to the next track, 'My Favourite Time', where he again uses upbeat melodies to talk about how bad Mondays are and I couldn't have described this feeling better! Moving on in our Different path only to run into a hard rock! But no, this does not hurt. 'Breathless' is in my way, and I am amazed at the huge guitars and the strength of this fabulous track. This makes me want to find what's next, I'm starving for more Bormann performances and I'm listening to track number 10 already. What is this?! Ladies and gents, this man in a genius!

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

'Who Really Wants To Get Older' is an absolutely brilliant piece of work. This is shameless rock and roll with that melodic touch that Bormann is so well-known for. It is also to be pointed out that Michael decided to include a ballad in German to close the record. I don't have a clue of what he says, but it sounds awesome and the German fans will surely love it.

In short, there are lot's of different flavours thrown in the cocktail shaker that will delight the most demanding melodic hard rock/AOR consumers. Mr. Rock'n' Roll prepared that cocktail for over a year. I personally loved the guitars, loved the arrangements, the choirs and the great delivery of Michael Bormann. Here's the German with the golden voice back with his brand new album, Different. You cannot miss this incredible record.

Pilar Sánchez

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 1 week ago
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!
  • Rocktopia Te : EXCLUSIVE Guild Of Ages music video premiere! Check out «link» ! Did you like the video? Please send us your comments!
  • Berny : Check out the new live reviews: http;//

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site