CD Reviews

Alexis - 'Birds Of Prey' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     March 10, 2011    
0.0 (0)
6519   0   1   0   0   0




The brainchild of vocalist Freddy Alexis from Chile.

Pitch Black Records are certainly scouring the world in search of worthy talent, and here we have the brainchild of vocalist Freddy Alexis from Chile whose debut album 'Birds Of Prey' is ably supported by guitarists Julian Jabbaz and Gino Mikanovic plus bassist Alex Cofre and drummer Juan Ulloa.

It's an album that features many fine musical moments and some great performances. Unfortunately, it is also an album that is rather a pot pourri stylistically and could, perhaps, have done with a complete rethinking of the track sequencing to allow for a better flow of the music! I do read the thoughts of fellow reviewers both in magazines and on the Web, and I am perhaps amongst the most forgiving when it comes to the short instrumental introductions that now seemingly grace an increasing proportion of rock and metal releases. We have one here, (imaginatively?) called 'Intro'. And it's just over a minute of superb symphonic rock. It left me feeling buoyed up for what was to follow…only to be somewhat deflated by a completely different set of styles actually encompassed on this release. These instrumental intros only really work if there is some commonality with what follows. What follows here is a mixture of power metal/hard rock ('Golden Path', 'Friendly Fire', 'Breaking The Spell') and traditional heavy metal ('Shadows', 'Birds Of Prey', 'Metalizer II') followed by a short but weird 'instrumental' 'Forest' - whose purpose and intention for inclusion is anybody's guess - followed by three remixed earlier songs by Freddy Alexis, the first of which ('Without You') serves to reveal yet another successful musical strand: acoustic melodic rock. The remaining two remixes ('The Witchblade' and 'Killing Truth') are more akin to the other power metal songs on display, and the first of these is as good as anything else on the entire release.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Freddy Alexis has a great voice and the best of what is to be found on 'Birds Of Prey' suggests that he is a precious talent that needs careful nurturing in order to make the killer album of which I personally feel he is capable. So far, the evidence is that Alexis is merely a work in progress. The somewhat basic hard rock outing 'Golden Path' may be found on the cover CD with this magazine. I also recommend seeking out a listen to 'Friendly Fire' and 'The Witchblade' from the power metal side of things; as these most clearly demonstrate the direction that Freddy Alexis could most successfully follow. On the other hand, 'Metalizer II' is an enormous traditional metal number and reveals another side of the guy's vocal prowess and finds him in territory more usually associated with the likes of Rob Halford!

Paul Jerome Smith

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site