CD Reviews

Winger - 'Karma' Hot

Added by James Gaden     February 17, 2010    
0.0 (0)
3155   0   1   0   0   0





Strong fifth album from the talnted American outfit.


Thanks (well, perhaps not!) to the relentless vitriolic bile of 90’s animated antiheroes Beavis and Butt-head, Winger will forever be seen as a bunch of preening wusses by some – strange really as probably House Of Lords aside, they were arguably the most musically adept melodic rock act to come out of the 80’s US hard rock explosion. Technically they were as tight as anyone, and whilst yes it’s perhaps fair to say that their first two albums could be considered fairly stereotypical of the day, they really flexed their musical muscles with 93’s criminally underrated ‘Pull’ opus.

When Kip Winger and the rest of the band returned a couple of years back with the imaginatively titled ‘IV’ opus, in some respects they took ‘Pull ‘ to the next level; dark, disparate mood swings and lyrical eloquence combining perfectly to reaffirm their desire to be taken seriously as musicians. Not surprisingly then, it divided opinions with some branding it a huge disappointment, whilst others (and I count myself amongst the latter) strongly applauding the band for sticking to their guns and refusing to take the easy option.

A tad lengthy as intros go perhaps, but it brings us rather nicely to the imminent release of the fifth Winger studio album ‘Karma’. Now, I doubt there are many out there expecting a return to the candyfloss sounds of ‘Winger’ or ‘In The Heart Of The Young’; and in that respect, the majority would be right. However, what Kip and the band have tried to do on ‘Karma’ is to create a balance between the strong melodic sensibilities of those first two releases, and the weightier musical sophistication that came after – and do you know what? As far as I can tell they seem to have hit the nail squarely on the head!

Kicking off with the rip-snorting ‘Deal With The Devil’, its readily apparent that there’s been some sort of paradigm shift within the Winger camp, as this is a full blooded, rabble rousing rocker of the old school. And in essence, it typifies the rest of the album because although there are plenty of tempo shifts, mood changes and dark twists and turns before we get to closing epic ‘Witness’, that same upbeat outlook permeates throughout.

Star of the show for me is Reb Beach (step forward and take a bow sir!) who puts in an at times truly sizzling performance, his deft licks and kerosene fuelled runs driving the likes of ‘Stone Cold Killer’, ‘Always Within Me’, ‘Pull Me Under’ and ‘Feeding Frenzy’ with real venom. Great lyrics, strong (by that I mean catchy) melodies, and a real sense of passion shine throughout ‘Karma’, and if the intention really was to create a hybrid sound between the debut and ‘Pull’ I doubt they could have done it better.

Dave Cockett


Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  November 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 5 days ago
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!
  • Rocktopia Te : EXCLUSIVE Guild Of Ages music video premiere! Check out «link» ! Did you like the video? Please send us your comments!
  • Berny : Check out the new live reviews: http;//
  • Berny : Download Fireworks #82 for FREE, incl. all 88 songs and the bonus magazine. Just go to "Free Downloads" in the TOP menu. : - >
  • Berny : Fireworks #83 is out NOW!
  • Rocktopia Te : Exclusive MOONSPELL UK video premiere on Rocktopia: Check out the latest news!
  • Berny : Check out the new video by Mass: 'When 2 Worlds Collide' ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : We prouldy present the new music video by American Tears! Check out our News Section ... «link»

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site