CD Reviews

House Of Lords - 'Cartesian Dreams' Hot

Added by James Gaden     February 17, 2010    
0.0 (0)
5513   0   1   0   0   0


Third album in as many years from the veteran outfit.


New House Of Lords albums are becoming about as regular as Christmas and as eagerly anticipated. This is their third album in as many years. A pattern started with the great return to form ‘World Upside Down’, then ‘Come to My Kingdom’ which was one of the melodic rock highlight of early last year. With such a prolific output the question has to be can they maintain the quality they’ve established with their recent Frontiers releases?

Well rest assured James Christian and the band manage to pull off another cracking rock album. Over the last three records the line up has stayed the same but it’s not exactly business as usual. Mark Baker of Signal fame has been brought into the fold in a songwriting capacity. With him he’s brought a honey pot of melody and this honey drips from every song.

People harp on about how good the House Of Lords debut album was, but I have to disagree. Back then, I preferred Guiffria’s ‘Silk and Steel’ and I believe James Christian and House of Lords are one of the few rock bands who started out in the 80s that have actually got better and better. Christian has now established himself as one of the most recognisable and consistently good voices in rock and this record is no exception. His voice swaggers over everything and his production weaves several fantastic melodies into each song. His wife Robin Beck is on hand again to add an extra dimension to the backing vocals.

‘Born To Be My Baby’, ‘Bangin’’, ‘Saved By Rock’ and ‘Joanna’ are the huge bombastic, hummable rockers you expect. If you call yourself a lover of rock music I defy you not to puff out your chest, strut around the room and sing-along to these tracks. They are a masterclass in how to pen melodic rock. Elsewhere, there’s ‘Sweet September’, which as well as Mark Baker, Tommy Denander and Dan Reed had a hand in writing. It’s one of the strongest ballads the Lords have come up with in years.

Jimi Bell’s guitar is now an integral part of their sound and some of his riffs have got harder and heavier without forsaking the melody. ‘Cartesian Dreams’, ‘Desert Rain’ and ‘The Harder They Come’ are the tunes here that rock that bit harder and ‘Never Look Back’ sees them flirt with the slight prog element that divided opinion on the ‘The Power And The Myth’ record.

If you were to detract from the album, you could say that some of the lyrics are clichéd and clunky. Take the opening lines of the record, “You shake, you bake.” You bake? What, Bread? Quiche? Also, some of the themes such as war on ‘Desert Rain’ have been visited before on ‘Fields Of Dreams’ from ‘World Upside Down’.

However, such quibbles don’t detract too much from what is another glorious melodic rock album from House Of Lords, and one, like their previous two outings, that will be amongst many people’s favourites come the end of the year.

Duncan Jamieson


Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 2 hours ago
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site