• JFolder::create: Could not create directory

Concert Reviews

A Foreigners Journey Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 27, 2019    
0.0 (0)
3322   0   0   0   0   0

A Foreigners Journey - Birdwell Venue, Barnsley (UK) - 16 November 2019

A large crowd (approximately four hundred) assembled for what was essentially a hometown gig for one of the UK's premier tribute bands A Foreigners Journey (AFJ). Last week at the same venue it was sad to see only a meagre turnout for new AOR; however, this evening proved that there is still a desire to hear the old classics.
The Birdwell Venue is an old Working Men's Club with tables and chairs around the outside and behind a large dance floor, which is situated in front of a big, purpose-built stage. At times it felt like a school disco, especially during the early parts of the show with the dance floor being largely full of ladies dancing. As the evening progressed more and more ventured forward.

Ricky Middleton (guitars & backing vocals), Jon Pease (keyboards & backing vocals), Paul Flanagan (bass & backing vocals) and Ian Ferris (drums) hit the stage to warm applause as they started the intro to the Journey classic 'Separate Ways (World's Apart)'. They were soon joined by charismatic lead singer Andrea Ojano.

With such a huge back catalogue to choose from, it was no surprise that the hits kept coming one after another. What was a surprise, however, was the amount of Journey songs compared to Foreigner ones in the first half of the show. By the end of the set, it had balanced out a bit more. One of my highlights at an AFJ show is how the band segue from the guitar/keyboard solo at the end of Journey's 'Stone In Love' to the riff-tastic 'Edge Of A Blade'. The backing vocals were of high quality; however, this evening I didn't think the harmony vocals were as good as I've heard the band produce on previous occasions, as highlighted on 'I'll Be Alright Without You'.
One of the great things about AFJ is the fact you can see the obvious enjoyment the band gets from playing these songs live, none more so than Middleton, who loves the opportunity to show off his talents on the Neil Schon (Journey) solos, as highlighted on the exceptional 'Who's Crying Now'.
At the end of Journey's 'Be Good To Yourself' all the band left the stage with Ojano returning by himself with an acoustic guitar. As he warmed up, the crowd took over with an obvious favourite, but not from one of the two bands you would have expected; instead it was Whitesnake's 'Here I Go Again'. Ojano then continued with the deepest cut of the evening, Foreigner's 'The Flame Still Burns'. Amusingly, he had to restart the song as he initially could not remember the lyrics! It was then back to the more recognisable classics. Ojano did stop and restart 'Cold As Ice' as the initial audience participation was a little lacklustre; not so the second time round. Journey's 'Anyway You Want It' concluded the main set.

The three song encore saw the dance floor completely fill up and the show was brought to a climax with the greatest song of all time (in my humble opinion), the Melodic Rock uber-classic 'Don't Stop Believin''.

My only own minor disappointment is that AFJ no longer have a saxophonist; so, Foreigner's 'Urgent' is excluded from the set. As I said, only a minor discontent. If you love live music, and in particular the classics of Foreigner and Journey, then I cannot recommend highly enough you check out A Foreigners Journey. Fantastic entertainment.

Setlist:- Separate Ways (Worlds Apart) (Journey) / Ask The Lonely (Journey) / Double Vision (Foreigner) / Waiting For A Girl Like You (Foreigner) / Stone In Love (Journey) / Edge Of The Blade (Journey) / Head Games (Foreigner) / Faithfully (Journey) / I'll Be Alright Without You (Journey) / Who's Crying Now (Journey) / Be Good To Yourself (Journey) / Here I Go Again (Whitesnake) / The Flame Still Burns (Foreigner) / Feels Like The First Time (Foreigner) / Cold As Ice (Foreigner) / Anyway You Want It (Journey)
Encore: Jukebox Hero (Foreigner) / I Want To Know What Love Is (Foreigner) / Don't Stop Believin' (Journey)

Review and photos by Mark Donnelly

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2021  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 3 days ago
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu
  • Berny : @Adolfo: I've also just sent you the magazine via WeTransfer. But please check you junk mail folder, the mail was definitely sent earlier today.
  • Berny : Hi @Adolfo: Have you already checked your spam folder? If the mail cannot be found, pls. contact me at «email»
  • Adolfo : «email»
  • Adolfo : My e - mail
  • Adolfo : I don't have any e - mail.
  • Berny : @Adolfo: Pls. check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • Adolfo : I have order the #94 but I can't find the download
  • RockingHerb : Thank You Berny.
  • Berny : Hello @snowwolf: Pls. check your mail! Thanks in advance! B.
  • snowwolf : I bought the new issue at noon yesterday and it is now 4am the next day. Any idea when I’ll be able to download it?
  • Berny : @RockingHerb: Many thanks for your purchase. Pls. check your mail.
  • RockingHerb : When will my recent purchase show in my downloads. there is a message saying up to 3 hours is this correct
  • Johns Band : Will videos appear again in watch and listen. Good way for who albums to buy. I have Wrathchild - Live From London on DVD that might have been here. YouTube have averts now.
  • Berny : @rocktu: We used to produce a series of podcasts that were available for download on Rocktopia. Other than that, there's no radio station I am aware of.
  • rocktu : Hi i would like to know was there ever a radio station of fireworks
  • rocktu : Hi
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #93 is out now! : - )
  • Berny : Hello @zigma33, you should have received a download link two days ago. Could you pls check your inboxes? Many thanks, B. :)
  • zigma33 : Hi! I purchased your latest issue #92 yesterday but never received my download.
  • daveomd : Got it along with my download, everything looks great! Thanks, Dave
  • Berny : @daveomd: We sent you a mail immediately after your purchase, and have just sent another email now. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • daveomd : I purchased your latest issue #92 but never received my download.
  • Berny : @Hysteria & @KI2000: Many thanks for your kind words! :)
  • Hysteria : Received my download copy almost immediately and downloaded 50 magazines for free. Cannot complain! Thanks guys!!!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site