CD Reviews

The Flower Kings - 'Waiting For Miracles' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     April 30, 2020    
0.0 (0)
1358   0   0   0   0   0




Fabulous melodies, recurring themes, incisive lyrics and wonderful musicianship.

It's been six years since the last fully-fledged output from The Flower Kings and it appeared for a while that Roine Stolt had put them on permanent hiatus; however, it seems last year's label anniversary tour alongside Spock's Beard provided the necessary catalyst, impetus and evident chemistry to get them back into action. I saw them on that tour and it was clear the band were on cloud nine so it's not surprising that the resulting double album lives up to expectations. As one has come to expect, the fabulous melodies, recurring themes, incisive lyrics and wonderful musicianship are all in evidence, although unusually all but two of the songs clock in under the ten-minute mark.

The first long number is 'Miracles For America' and it contains some rather cutting lyrics which, if I interpret them correctly, shame the current administration; musically, it's a diverse piece that mixes tempos and styles. There's a delightful guitar solo that puts me in mind of Andy Latimer (Camel) and an underlying theme that is soon swimming around your head. 'Vertigo' has a wonderful refrain, and it features some delicious bass from Jonas Reingold, marvellous vintage keyboard sounds from Zach Kamins and Stolt stretching out on the guitar solo.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Kamins brings more piano to the group's sound than hitherto and this is evident on the initially delicate 'The Bridge' which then concludes with Stolt letting rip during a gritty solo. 'Ascending To The Stars' is an instrumental that has cinematic qualities and great orchestration, while the wonderful 'Wicked Old Symphony' brings something different to The Flower Kings' palette; it reminds me of Steve Hackett's jauntier songs and is a real toe-tapper. 'The Rebel Circus' is an edgy instrumental which cleverly reprises earlier themes before 'Sleeping With The Enemy' finds Stolt singing the verses and Hasse Fröberg the choruses to great effect in classic The Flower Kings fashion. Disc one concludes with 'The Crowning Of Greed' which begins with some furious soloing but ends reprising the theme from 'The Bridge'.

The second disc harks back to the first via 'House Of Cards Reprise'; the original piece opens the album as a subtle piano theme but the reprise rocks it up. 'Spirals' also recalls an earlier theme which The Flower Kings are so good at – it's earworm central. 'Steampunk' is another track full of hooks, while 'We Were Always Here' has a fine chorus as the song moves from Pop to Prog and back again.

Gary Marshall

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 days, 14 hours ago
  • Berny : @Hysteria & @KI2000: Many thanks for your kind words! :)
  • Hysteria : Received my download copy almost immediately and downloaded 50 magazines for free. Cannot complain! Thanks guys!!!
  • KI2000 : Love the new issue guys, great magazine!
  • Berny : @Mugi89: Your confirmation mail was sent on the 22nd, I've just sent it again. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • Mugi89 : Hi! I purchased my digital copy of issue 92 2 days ago but still didn't receive it. When am I gonna be able to download it? thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Your mail was forwarded to the Fireworks team yesterday, I am going to ask them again. Sorry for the delay!
  • Berny : @Mitch Perry: Your order was received at 4AM local time. As stated on the order page, all payments have to be processed manually. Your copy of Fireworks 92 was added to your download section, many thanks for the purchase.
  • Berny : @RobC68: I sent you two emails explaining the situation. There's not much more I can do for you at the moment, so I'd suggest you stop buying the magazine. Thanks.
  • zom414 : Still not received the latest issue by post, I've emailed as well but not heard anything. Can you let me know what's happening please?
  • Mitch Perry : Can I have my download link, please? Issue 92 22 Sep 2020 07:57:11 BST Paypal Transaction ID: 1BS38875MX3700248
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site