Steve Vai - 'Where The Wild Things Are' Hot

Added by James Gaden     February 17, 2010    
0.0 (0)
8062   0   1   0   0   0

Six string wizard Steve Vai, live and loud.


Having interviewed the great Steve Vai in June, I was eagerly awaiting this two-disc DVD when it finally arrived just a couple of days before the magazine’s deadline. As I imagined, from dutifully seeing him on this the Sound Theories Tour, it was everything I expected and more. Accompanied by Dave Weiner on guitar, Jeremy Colson on drums, Bryan Beller on bass and Zakk Wiesinger on keyboards, the master of the six strings showcases his most recognisable songs and presents them in a new light due to the incorporation of the violins of Alex DePue and Ann Marie Calhoun to the mix.

Recorded live at The State Theatre in Minneapolis in 2007, the setlist is nothing but impressive, encompassing classics such as ‘Tender Surrender’, ‘Fire Wall’, ‘The Crying Machine’, ‘Die To Live’ and ‘All About Eve’, without forgetting the monumental ‘Whispering A Prayer’, the glorious ‘Liberty’ and the formidable ‘For The Love Of God’, with which the concert finishes.  ‘The Audience Is Listening’ never ceases to amaze me and the post-gig visual effects added to ‘The Murder’ are well effective.

The ever smiling Ann Marie Calhoun walks the stage like a little butterfly with grace and class and when it comes to her soloing with fellow violinist Alex DePue, it is like watching the beauty and the beast, yet when it comes to the music they produce, both are beauty and beast at the same time.

Unlike other guitarists, Vai is an ego-free artist and interacts a great deal with the band, also giving them the chance to show off their skills during their individual solos.  He also shows his sense of humour when he introduces the band with some dance moves, makes jokes and even introduces his guitar tech when he can’t make his acoustic guitar sound until the techie in question comes to the rescue.  These are little things that other ego-centred guitarists would cut off. Another amusing part is when Jeremy Colson brings a portable drum kit to the front of the stage and jokes with Vai before playing ‘Angel Food’ with both Vai and Weiner on acoustic guitars.

Visual-wise, this DVD is a jewel, not only for Steve’s pragmatic showmanship and the interaction with the band, but also because of the different angles that the numerous cameras bring.

The bonus material is no less interesting as it contains very informative and lengthy interviews with the band and how they first heard of Vai, how touring with him is and how much they enjoy it all.  Last but not least is the introduction of his new pedal, which regardless whether you are a guitar player or not, you will definitely crack a smile as Steve plays himself twice and teases himself.

Do I need to say more? This brilliant DVD is out now, so what are you waiting for to go and get it? With two hours and 40 minutes of live footage and the succulent bonus material, you will have a pleasurable time, so sit down, relax, press play and enjoy.

Mónica Castedo-López


Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 11 hours, 38 minutes ago
  • Hysteria : Received my download copy almost immediately and downloaded 50 magazines for free. Cannot complain! Thanks guys!!!
  • KI2000 : Love the new issue guys, great magazine!
  • Berny : @Mugi89: Your confirmation mail was sent on the 22nd, I've just sent it again. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • Mugi89 : Hi! I purchased my digital copy of issue 92 2 days ago but still didn't receive it. When am I gonna be able to download it? thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Your mail was forwarded to the Fireworks team yesterday, I am going to ask them again. Sorry for the delay!
  • Berny : @Mitch Perry: Your order was received at 4AM local time. As stated on the order page, all payments have to be processed manually. Your copy of Fireworks 92 was added to your download section, many thanks for the purchase.
  • Berny : @RobC68: I sent you two emails explaining the situation. There's not much more I can do for you at the moment, so I'd suggest you stop buying the magazine. Thanks.
  • zom414 : Still not received the latest issue by post, I've emailed as well but not heard anything. Can you let me know what's happening please?
  • Mitch Perry : Can I have my download link, please? Issue 92 22 Sep 2020 07:57:11 BST Paypal Transaction ID: 1BS38875MX3700248
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site