• JFolder::create: Could not create directory

Concert Reviews

Steve Hackett - 'Seconds Out' Live

Added by ant-rocks     November 23, 2021    
0.0 (0)
68   0   0   0   0   0

What a show – two and a half hours of fantastic and nostalgic Prog!

Nottingham: Royal Concert Hall – 2nd October 2021

My introduction to Genesis was through the live album 'Seconds Out' in 1981, four years after it was released. I'd heard a few Genesis singles previously, however that year was when I became a serious fan of Progressive and Rock music in general. When Steve Hackett announced two years ago that he would be touring in late 2020 and playing the whole ninety odd minutes in full I can't explain how excited I was. Unfortunately, that darn COVID caused the tour to be postponed for a year.

'Clocks – The Angel Of Mons', an instrumental number from 'Spectral Mornings', opens the short first set where Hackett plays a few of his solo tunes. The crowd are very receptive and the mild-mannered guitarist is genuinely touched by the cheering. 'Held In The Shadows' is the first of two songs from Hackett's new release 'Surrender Of Silence' and vocalist Nad Sylvan sounds great sharing co vocals with Hackett. It builds slowly and the guitarist extraordinaire displays his dexterity on the lead guitar. My favourite Hackett song 'Every Day' is up next and I'm not disappointed as we are treated to a masterclass in the tapping technique. 'The Devil's Cathedral' is the second song from the new album and features some bluesy guitar. 'Shadow Of The Hierophant' ends the first set in rousing fashion, Jonas Reingold's bass pedals making your teeth rattle! The only disappointment is that Amanda Lehmann is only playing a select few shows on this tour (I was lucky enough to see her in Manchester a few days earlier), hence we only get to hear an abridged instrumental version tonight.

After a thirty minute break Hackett and his cohorts return to treat us to the main course. As soon as the band play the first few notes from 'Squonk' the crowd, including yours truly, are in raptures. Roger King's keyboard flurries are superb. Sylvan sounds amazingly like Peter Gabriel on the full version of 'The Carpet Crawlers', however he struggles to emulate Phil Collins' cockney drawl on 'Robbery, Assault and Battery' (hardly surprising and an observation not a complaint). 'Afterglow' is superb and the accompanying light show replicates the 'Seconds Out' album cover! 'Firth Of Fifth' as always is brilliant; firstly, King's intro on the piano and then of course "that" solo which deservedly receives a standing ovation, as does 'The Musical Box' (the closing section). I was slightly disappointed that the full version wasn't performed as I had witnessed at a couple of shows at the beginning of the tour. 'I Know What I Like...' is extended so that Rob Townsend can show his prowess on the saxophone and Hackett and his merry men transform the number into a bluesy/jazzy jam.

'Supper's Ready', all twenty-four minutes of it, is breathtaking and of course the crowd give another rapturous standing ovation. 'The Cinema Show' contains my all-time favourite keyboard solo of all time and King doesn't let me down! As a bonus we are treated to 'Aisle Of Plenty'. The encore as we all know consists of a superb 'Dance On A Volcano' and obviously 'Los Endos' which includes a powerhouse drum solo from Craig Blundell and snippets of 'Myopia' and 'Slogans' from the main man himself. What a show – two and a half hours of fantastic and nostalgic Prog!

Az Chaudhry

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  December 2021  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week ago
  • Berny : You can pre - order FIREWORKS MAGAZINE #97 now!
  • Deeppurple#1 : Hi,I downloaded my free copy of issue #87 but I can't seem to open the file. Any advice?
  • Berny : RIP Alan Lancaster! :(
  • Berny : @Barneypippa: I forwarded your mail to the Fireworks team. You should receive a reply asap.
  • Barneypippa : My magazine (#96) hasnt arrived yet - should have been here last week
  • Rocktopia Te : @bakerstreetish: Pls. check your email for download instructions.
  • bakerstreeti : Hi, I just bought digital download #96. How will I be able to receive/access it? First time on this site. Thanks!
  • zom414 : Have they been posted out yet? Not received mine yet but may have the release date wrong!
  • Johns Band : Received glossy Fireworks 96 and one of best ever. I am still looking at pictures and "Revisit The Gods AOR Festive" should be great. Probably get download from issue 101 to save on space & it is read to me from audio voice. Already got Robben Ford Instrumental album "Pure" great stuff & Freddy King singing & guitar I love, so Bernie Marsden new album I will have on Amazon Prime. If you are into 70's Rock then new Help Yourself 6 CD Boxset + info will be good for you plus expert to pay no more
  • Berny : Fireworks #96 is out now! :)
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Pls. check your email!
  • Paul wiv : I have paid for issue 92 but it hasn't downloaded yet.
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich hätte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!
  • Hysteria : GREAT MAGAZINE! Keep on rockin' guys!!!
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #95 is out now!
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Many thanks for your purchase, pls. check your mail.
  • Paul wiv : I have bought issue 89 on download but it has not appeared on my account
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu
  • Berny : @Adolfo: I've also just sent you the magazine via WeTransfer. But please check you junk mail folder, the mail was definitely sent earlier today.
  • Berny : Hi @Adolfo: Have you already checked your spam folder? If the mail cannot be found, pls. contact me at «email»
  • Adolfo : «email»
  • Adolfo : My e - mail
  • Adolfo : I don't have any e - mail.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site