CD Reviews

Ghost - 'The Engraving' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     May 05, 2011    
0.0 (0)
3738   0   1   0   0   0





An infectious brand of metal somewhere between the likes of Iron Maiden and Bonfire.

Ghost are from Norway and offer an infectious brand of metal somewhere between the likes of Iron Maiden and Bonfire. Title track 'The Engraving' has some nice twin guitar work that gives the song a distinctive feel and is not unlike early Helloween. Kim Sandvik's vocals are strong and have a confidence to them that lends well to the songs.

A churning riff that took me back to a band called Artch that I was fond of many years ago, serves A.W.A.T very well and has a strong melodic metal chorus that the likes of Bonfire made a living out of. Despite this being released on the band's own label and only supporting Jorn so far, I would imagine it won't be long before they are signed. There's plenty to get your head nodding to and 'Agent Down' has a rock solid riff and a tough chorus that the likes of Accept excelled with. If the band have an ace card to play it's in the guitar department, the twin guitar work sounds fresh and always blasts its way to the surface of every song.

'Taking Lives' has a subtle intro as the guitars and drums build before the song takes off, this is what makes this cd release so enjoyable. If you're a fan of metal you cannot help but enjoy what's on offer, and a few prominent support slots could push this band to the next stage. Its not all skull crushing riffs and it's a welcome change of pace in 'Independence Day' as the band take time to breathe and show the more stripped down essence of their song writing abilities. It's not exactly a ballad but it's the closet thing on offer here.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Bringing things to a close the gut bucket bass lines let 'Here I Am' take off into typical Bonfire territory as the guitars of Oystein Wiik and Andre Berger battle it out with true twin guitar interplay reminiscent of Iron Maiden.

In all a solid release for Ghost, who I look forward to hearing from in the near future.

Ray Paul

Official homepage:

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 14 hours, 9 minutes ago
  • Berny : @mattnavy: Pls. click on "Shop" - > "Fireworks Mini Shop" in the TOP menu on Rocktopia or send an e - mail to «email»
  • mattnavy : I cant seem to work out how I buy the latest edition or a years subscription of firework magazines.
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with AndrĂ© Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us