DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Marillion - 'Live From Cadogan Hall' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     June 02, 2011    
0.0 (0)
6569   0   1   0   0   0

A fantastic DVD.

The Glasgow show on Marillion's 'Less Is More' acoustic tour is the one and only time, from the numerous live experiences I have of the band, that I have left one of their shows decidedly underwhelmed. So with that in mind, it would be fair to suggest I approached the DVD version of 'Live From Cadogan Hall', which was the last show on the same tour, with a little trepidation. On the night I saw this show the small venue was oversold, the hand dryer in the gents loo was louder than the band on stage and they refused to play 'It's Not Your Fault' because "Too many people aren't listening!" (evidently it WAS our fault!). 

So to have the opportunity to watch Marillion present the same show in the beautiful Cadogan Hall, on a stage big enough to hold the plethora of dulcimers, xylophones, traps, glockenspiels and auto-harps, and with Mr Hogarth in a more convivial mood, let me see the wonderful experience I should have had! I'm not convinced that I ever thought that watching Pete Trewavas plonking away on a xylophone, or hearing Mark Kelly play the theme to 'Vision On' (some of the between song banter is hilarious) on glockenspiel could be so rewarding, but when the results are as spectacular as they are on this DVD, then there is no doubt that they are. With the first disc in this two disc set being a run through of the recent acoustic 'Less Is More' studio album, songs such as 'Go!', 'The Space' and 'If My Heart Were A Ball' are stripped right back to basics and rebuilt in an entirely different manner. It is very interesting watching the concentration on the faces as Hogarth, Kelly and Trewavas as they play all manner of unusual instruments, and whilst they all do a sterling job, they do look far more comfortable when playing the instruments they are more accustomed to.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Disc two contains the second set of the night, which is made up of songs that are equally as comfortable in this acoustic setting, but which didn't appear on 'Less Is More'. Impressively the music really stands up in this form and loses little of its impact. The band are engaging and the performances make for compelling viewing, with the well shot show giving the opportunity to get up close and personal in a way that not many live DVDs do. The set-list is a great mixture of favourite and less celebrated (although none the less excellent) songs that all shine brightly and the band are visibly having a fantastic time.

Disappointingly the DVD doesn't come with any extras at all, although I am led to believe that the Blu-Ray (the first time the band have released a show in that format) does offer a whole host of features including a different version of 'Go!', 'See It Like A Baby' and snippets from the band's Racket TV, as well as an audio version of the 'Less Is More' album that started this project. 'Live From Cadogan Hall' is a fantastic DVD that allows casual fans the opportunity to see a band right at the top of their game, but in a completely different light from normal and for ardent fans is a required purchase.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  February 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month ago
  • Johns Band : Happy New year Everyone. Will the music film return.
  • Rocktopia Te : The Rocktopia Team would like to wish you a Merry Christmas! :)
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #85 is out now!
  • Berny : @Bill24: Please follow the instructions at «link» or contact me directly at «email»
  • Bill24 : I cannot unzip the mp3's asking for a password. Same one I use to login with? Please someone help. Thanks.
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny
  • Berny : The FREE PDF version of Fireworks #82 is still available, including 88 (!!) bonus MP3 songs Just click on the banner on top of the site. Already 800+ downloads and counting!
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: Apologies! Link was fixed, CD 84 is now available from the FIREWORKS menu on top of the page (for registered members only). Thanks & best wishes, B :)
  • SeaDog57 : Doesn't seem to be a download for bonus cd 84 just 2 identical versions of Bonus CD 83?
  • Rocktopia Te : Interviews with Lordi, Dee Snider, W.A.S.P., Myles Kennedy and many more. Check out the Fireworks & Rocktopia interview sections!
  • Berny : We are proud to premiere the new lyric video by MASS! Check out the news section.
  • Berny : Hi biggywiggymusic: Sorted out, apologies for the delay.
  • biggywiggymu : Hi I just ordered download of 84 - took my PayPal and then it said I didn't pay. Have the transaction number. Can someone help?
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #84 is out now!!
  • amcc1888 : Thanks Berny
  • Berny : @amcc1888: Please check your mail. Many thanks, B.
  • amcc1888 : Hi There i have ordered Fireworks Issue 83 and paid by PayPal but you have charged me twice but the download has not appeared in my account...also sent you a web contact message..anyone there to help me thanks Tony
  • Berny : We proudly present the new lyric video by AMERICAN TEARS, pls. check out our newsfeed!
  • Rocktopia Te : There are now 500 live reviews on Rocktopia! Check out the latest ones, incl. Iron Maiden, Steven Tyler and Steelhouse Festival 2018!
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Purchases were added to your account. Sorry for the troubles, not sure why you are still having issues with the DL store. Pls. check your mail. Many thanks & best wishes, B.
  • Transmet1972 : Sent another email re new purchase. Same download issue. Thanks.
  • Berny : @Transmet1972: Support received your message, I already sent a reply.
  • Transmet1972 : Site wont allow me to send ticket to support.
  • Transmet1972 : I cant access the files for 2 downloadable mags i purchased. Site wint
  • Graham : Hi guys i wonder if anyone knows what happend to Greg Parker who formed the band Ozz that released 2 Lps in 1980,
  • Berny : HEAVEN'S TRAIL premiere their new lyric video on Rocktopia. Check out the news section ... «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : @Berny did another lyric video for ROYAL HUNT. Pls. check out our news aection and watch the video on YouTube ... «link»
  • Hysteria : @ Rocktopia Team: GREAT SONG & VIDEO!!! Thanks for sharing!
  • Rocktopia Te : EXCLUSIVE Guild Of Ages music video premiere! Check out «link» ! Did you like the video? Please send us your comments!
  • Berny : Check out the new live reviews: http;//

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site