CD Reviews

Black Country Communion - '2' Hot

Added by James Gaden     June 10, 2011    
0.0 (0)
2590   0   1   0   0   0




Awesome hard rocking follow up to the popular debut record from the supergroup.

In case you missed it, the debut album by Black Country Communion did really rather well. I won't use the supergroup tag, but the all-star quartet comprised of Glenn Hughes, Joe Bonamassa, Derek Sherinian and Jason Bonham put out a hard hitting debut which let Bonamassa rock out, underpinned by Bonham's unmistakable percussion, led by the awesome voice of Hughes, which is funk free and rock to the core. I love Glenn's funky side, but with his realisation that he's not going to be able to shake the 'Voice Of Rock' tag anytime soon, he figured BCC was the band to let rip with, and the resulting debut smashed its way into number 13 on the UK album charts.

Typically, a band would tour an album to death to keep pushing it, but BCC only played a couple of gigs due to each member's packed schedule. Then they started work on a second record, and here it is. A mere eight months since the first, which is almost unheard of nowadays, but it's not unusual for Glenn, who is hugely prolific solo and was used to knocking albums out at that pace in Deep Purple. As a result, he has weighed in heavily on the new record, and personally, I think '2' is superior to the debut in every single way.

The first album came roaring out of the gates, and so does this one with 'The Outsider' - and if you want to check it out, just play our cover CD. Glenn claimed the lyrics on '2' were his darkest since his terrific 'Addiction' album, and he's right. Work on his autobiography meant he had a lot to say about darkness and demons, and  this track, along with songs like 'Faithless' and 'Cold' allow him to do just that. Producer Kevin Shirley is an active contributor to some of the songs, and Bonamassa weighs in with the sweeping 'Hadrian's Wall', boasting some fine acoustic work.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Jason Bonham brings 'Save Me', a track he wanted to submit to the reformed Led Zeppelin before that was abandoned, and bringing it to Hughes has turned it into an epic, orchestral driven number. There's also an absolute mass of great rockers on here, personal favourites for me being 'Smokestack Woman' and the fantastic turbo charged 'I Can See Your Spirit'.

If you compare the two albums, track for track, I think this is the hands down winner. It's powerful, it's rocking, Glenn sings superbly, Bonamassa plays superbly, Hughes's bass and Bonham’s drums rock your speakers and Derek Sherinian is far more prominent this time with some fabulous Hammond organ work. It will surely appeal to fans of the first BCC album, Deep Purple fans and rockers in general. Imagine the first album... now make it miles better. That's what BCC did. Awesome

James Gaden

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2018  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 5 days, 12 hours ago
  • Rocktopia Te : Two news interviews in the Rocktopia Interviews Section: LITTLE CAESAR & GEISHAS IN VITRO. Enjoy! :) «link»
  • Berny : Fireworks #82 is our now! Check out the free interviews with Royal Hunt, Stryper, Kamelot, James Christian, Signal Red & Animal Drive!
  • Berny : @Johns Band: Many thanks for your purchase! Your copy will be sent to your registered address this week.
  • Johns Band : I paid for Fireworks 82 Magazine, when will it be sent. Best Regards - John
  • Berny : @Rob: Done! :)
  • robmckenzie : Hi Bernie, urgent change please. In the Moonkings concert review - please replace "the original John Syke's one" with "obviously his sublime '1987' album version"
  • Berny : Anyway, we posted 90+ album & live reviews in February. Please enjoy & share!
  • Rocktopia Te : Don't trigger CEB, you know what will happen ....
  • Berny : None that I am aware of ... BRUCE??? :D ;)
  • Hysteria : @ Berny: So no adult toys in the Rocktopis shop?? :D
  • Berny : Apologies for the "Shout Here" spammers. We'll take care of this issue asap.
  • Hysteria : Very cool video Berny!!
  • Berny : Check out our brand new lyric video for Royal Hunt's 'A Million Ways To Die'. \m/
  • Berny : We posted 242 reviews (225 albums & 17 live reviews) in January. Enjoy :)
  • Rocktopia Te : TENGGER CAVALRY UK music video premiere on Rocktopia! Check out the news section!
  • Berny : @impellitteri: Can you please contact me at «email» ? MAny thanks in advance!
  • impellitteri : Why?
  • impellitteri : I'm triyng to buy in the shop but I can't, a message say "user registration is disabled, it must be enabled in order to proceed"
  • Berny : @GuyManning: I forwarded your mail to our reviews editor who will get in touch with you shortly. :)
  • GuyManning : Hi any chance of seeing the DAMANEK review?
  • Rocktopia Te : We wish you a Merry Christmas! : - )
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #81 is out now!
  • Rocktopia Te : DELAIN! MARILLION! AMARANTHE! LYNCH MOB! METALLICA! Check out the latest LIVE reviews!
  • SeaDog57 : Berny can't seem to find the download link for the free music of Fireworks #80
  • Rocktopia Te : AMBERIAN DAWN premiere their new music video for 'I'm The One' on Rocktopia!
  • Johns Band : Boulevard "Luminescence" is superb album, and Accept "The Rise Of Chaos" you can find review in Fireworks issue 80 . Same with Black Country Communion "BCCIV." All with Band interview & album review in issue 80
  • Rocktopia Te : Rocktopia interview JOEY TEMPEST of EUROPE and premiere THE UNGUIDED's new video!
  • Berny : You can now pre - order Fireworks Magazine #80! Please follow this «link»
  • Rocktopia Te : Great interview with JON STEVENS (INXS, Noiseworks) is now online! Check out the review of his latest album, too.
  • Berny : Rocktopia EXCLUSIVE music video premiere: H.E.A.T - 'Redefined'!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us