CD Reviews

Black Country Communion - '2' Hot

Added by James Gaden     June 10, 2011    
0.0 (0)
4975   0   1   0   0   0




Awesome hard rocking follow up to the popular debut record from the supergroup.

In case you missed it, the debut album by Black Country Communion did really rather well. I won't use the supergroup tag, but the all-star quartet comprised of Glenn Hughes, Joe Bonamassa, Derek Sherinian and Jason Bonham put out a hard hitting debut which let Bonamassa rock out, underpinned by Bonham's unmistakable percussion, led by the awesome voice of Hughes, which is funk free and rock to the core. I love Glenn's funky side, but with his realisation that he's not going to be able to shake the 'Voice Of Rock' tag anytime soon, he figured BCC was the band to let rip with, and the resulting debut smashed its way into number 13 on the UK album charts.

Typically, a band would tour an album to death to keep pushing it, but BCC only played a couple of gigs due to each member's packed schedule. Then they started work on a second record, and here it is. A mere eight months since the first, which is almost unheard of nowadays, but it's not unusual for Glenn, who is hugely prolific solo and was used to knocking albums out at that pace in Deep Purple. As a result, he has weighed in heavily on the new record, and personally, I think '2' is superior to the debut in every single way.

The first album came roaring out of the gates, and so does this one with 'The Outsider' - and if you want to check it out, just play our cover CD. Glenn claimed the lyrics on '2' were his darkest since his terrific 'Addiction' album, and he's right. Work on his autobiography meant he had a lot to say about darkness and demons, and  this track, along with songs like 'Faithless' and 'Cold' allow him to do just that. Producer Kevin Shirley is an active contributor to some of the songs, and Bonamassa weighs in with the sweeping 'Hadrian's Wall', boasting some fine acoustic work.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Jason Bonham brings 'Save Me', a track he wanted to submit to the reformed Led Zeppelin before that was abandoned, and bringing it to Hughes has turned it into an epic, orchestral driven number. There's also an absolute mass of great rockers on here, personal favourites for me being 'Smokestack Woman' and the fantastic turbo charged 'I Can See Your Spirit'.

If you compare the two albums, track for track, I think this is the hands down winner. It's powerful, it's rocking, Glenn sings superbly, Bonamassa plays superbly, Hughes's bass and Bonham’s drums rock your speakers and Derek Sherinian is far more prominent this time with some fabulous Hammond organ work. It will surely appeal to fans of the first BCC album, Deep Purple fans and rockers in general. Imagine the first album... now make it miles better. That's what BCC did. Awesome

James Gaden

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 1 day ago
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site