CD Reviews

Year Of The Goat - 'Lucem Ferre' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     July 06, 2011    
0.0 (0)
5155   0   1   0   0   0




Well worth checking out.

A strange curio that harks back to the early Seventies when most 'satanic' music didn't sound in the least bit heavy or scary – maybe that was the scary part? – and the likes of Coven peddled an underground/psychedelic mishmash that teetered between folk and prog rock… 'Lucem Ferre' – the Latin from which the name Lucifer is derived – is the debut four-track (or four gospel, if you please) mini-album from Year Of The Goat, and is quite a pleasant, rather quirky offering which like its Seventies cousins sits neatly in the category marked 'difficult to categorise'. It's not downbeat enough to be doom, not technical enough to be overly progressive, not intense enough out-and-out metal, but as all three elements are there in the mix Year Of The Goat are probably best described as Opeth-lite, which is in no way meant to be derogatory, because the five-piece from Sweden's debut release is extremely well executed and well worth investigating. What vocalist, guitarist and founder member Thomas Eriksson, guitarists Per Broddesson and Jonas Mattsson, bassist Tobias Resch and drummer Fredrik Hellerström have put together is a finely-crafted and extremely clever body of work which says more in 21 minutes than many bands can say in seventy.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

'Of Darkness' is a gentle introduction to the album, the vocals softly sung, guitars light and open, the soloing fluid and melodic, with just the underpinning riff suggesting a hint of malevolence or an undercurrent of malice. At eight minutes, the next song 'Vermillion Clouds' is the longest cut on offer. Building impressively from the lowliest of openings, the song hits top gear midway through, gaining tempo and running out with a repetitive riff which heavies things up for 'Dark Lord', a cover of a Sam Gopal song and the heaviest track the Swedes serve up. Gopal was the leader of a self-titled Sixties British psychedelic rock band, one of whose line-ups featured one Lemmy Kilminster who sang this particular track, and it's here that the band really come to life, whipping up a five-minute maelstrom of metal 'n' malice. After that heavy outburst things are rounded off by the short instrumental title track, the calm after the storm, and things return to normality once more...

The first time I heard this I was hooked by curiosity. After a couple more plays it became a permanent fixture in the CD player. Well worth checking out…

John Tucker

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 6 hours ago
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!
  • bpomper : Thanks didnt of that. I still have not heard about fireworks 88 was it sent out. Thankyou
  • Rocktopia Te : @bpomper: For security reasons, we removed your previous message. Please do not post your private e - mail address. Many thanks for your understanding.
  • bpomper : Thanks for the reply. I see download but can you confirm that hardcopy was or is sent ou .thanks.the email i used is inder the contact me info of the website
  • Berny : @bpomper: Apologies for your troubles. Where did you send the email to? We haven't received anything. I will send you a longer reply via mail. Also, you can download the free CD from the "Fireworks" menu on top, but the CD links are only shown if you are logged in.
  • bpomper : 3rd email inquiring about my purchase of fireworks #88. i purchased on the 2oth of sept and today is the 24 with no response...paypal has taken the payment. should i have a down load of the cd for mu usa magazine. Looking forward to an answer
  • bpomper : hello i purchased fireworks #88 through paypal on9/23 and have not recieved an email from rocktopia. purchase is for a hard copy of the mag. should i have cd download instructions.when should i expect it
  • Berny : @Johns Band: I've just sent you an e - mail. Best regards, B.
  • Johns Band : I have ordered FM Live video and £1.99 taken from my PayPal account. How do I download video. Something gone wrong at processing with Fireworks. The links to report it do not work.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site