CD Reviews

Poor Genetic Material - 'Island Noises' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     July 15, 2011    
0.0 (0)
6895   0   1   0   0   0

Try before you buy.

PGM is not a band that I had previously encountered, despite 'Island Noises' being their seventh release. The nucleus of this progressive/ambient outfit is German, but includes a British lead singer (Philip Griffiths), who – for those who like scraps of minutiae – is the son of Martin, who was the original lead singer for Beggars Opera, the early Scottish progressive band formed in 1969 (and whose second album 'Waters Of Change' has been a long-time favourite of mine). But I digress! PGM is a studio-only combo, having taken the decision to focus on the writing and recording of new material rather than having to rehearse and then perform their previous works.

While some of their early output from the turn of the millennium in turn took each of the seasons as inspiration, this time around it is Shakespeare's 'The Tempest' providing the underlying basis for an expansive conceptual work that is spread across a 2CD package. It is quite a complex work, and took the band no less than four years to complete!

I have to remark that giving this release several listens for the purpose of a balanced review has been quite a daunting task! There is just so much to absorb, and trying to identify the plethora of different influences and styles is a considerable challenge. Although I have given the album several plays, I feel that I still have much to discover. It is an album for those whose primary musical preference is the progressive rock (not metal) genre, and I can especially recommend it to those of you who enjoy albums that can initially intrigue, but over time really capture the imagination.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The band comprises accomplished musicians and they have been joined by a number of guests to complete the palette of moods and musical textures. The vocalist's father also makes an appearance in various places throughout the album, with a mixture of short recitations from the play that inspired it. Such oration can be a distraction; here it is not and in a number of places provides an effective bridge between tracks. The vocalist himself has a pleasant, clear, baritone voice, which nods in the direction of that of his father, but also more strongly I feel, towards Damian Wilson as heard on his solo material.

Of the two, the second disc is, I feel, the more accessible and encompasses eight tracks: seven of which are chunky numbers with contrasting characteristics, of which the opening instrumental 'Banquet Of Illusions', the wonderful and rather languid 'Assassins And Sleepers' and the extraordinarily diverse 'Fountain Of Innocence are the pick of the bunch. The first disc comprises five shorter numbers plus the monolithic title track which lasts for all but 20 minutes. Some of this I would have to describe as "experimental" and requires some perseverance. This is not the same as suggesting it is unpalatable or inaccessible, but rather that it requires focus and concentration. Background music this is not. By way of amplification, my notes about the lengthy 'Island Noises' includes such comments as "inventive instrumentation", "abstract", "meandering" and "fascinating tonal textures".

I like it, but I do really think that this is one of those albums where you would be advised to try before you buy.

Paul Jerome Smith

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  April 2021  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 6 days, 13 hours ago
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Many thanks for your purchase, pls. check your mail.
  • Paul wiv : I have bought issue 89 on download but it has not appeared on my account
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu
  • Berny : @Adolfo: I've also just sent you the magazine via WeTransfer. But please check you junk mail folder, the mail was definitely sent earlier today.
  • Berny : Hi @Adolfo: Have you already checked your spam folder? If the mail cannot be found, pls. contact me at «email»
  • Adolfo : «email»
  • Adolfo : My e - mail
  • Adolfo : I don't have any e - mail.
  • Berny : @Adolfo: Pls. check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • Adolfo : I have order the #94 but I can't find the download
  • RockingHerb : Thank You Berny.
  • Berny : Hello @snowwolf: Pls. check your mail! Thanks in advance! B.
  • snowwolf : I bought the new issue at noon yesterday and it is now 4am the next day. Any idea when I’ll be able to download it?
  • Berny : @RockingHerb: Many thanks for your purchase. Pls. check your mail.
  • RockingHerb : When will my recent purchase show in my downloads. there is a message saying up to 3 hours is this correct
  • Johns Band : Will videos appear again in watch and listen. Good way for who albums to buy. I have Wrathchild - Live From London on DVD that might have been here. YouTube have averts now.
  • Berny : @rocktu: We used to produce a series of podcasts that were available for download on Rocktopia. Other than that, there's no radio station I am aware of.
  • rocktu : Hi i would like to know was there ever a radio station of fireworks
  • rocktu : Hi
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #93 is out now! : - )
  • Berny : Hello @zigma33, you should have received a download link two days ago. Could you pls check your inboxes? Many thanks, B. :)
  • zigma33 : Hi! I purchased your latest issue #92 yesterday but never received my download.
  • daveomd : Got it along with my download, everything looks great! Thanks, Dave
  • Berny : @daveomd: We sent you a mail immediately after your purchase, and have just sent another email now. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • daveomd : I purchased your latest issue #92 but never received my download.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site