Hydrogyn - 'Judgement' Hot
Written by Central Electronic Brain     September 05, 2011    
0.0 (0)
5555   0   1   0   0   0





Lack of cohesion with too many songs worthy of the 'filler' tag.

When the first Hydrogyn CD, 'Bombshell', was released in 2005 I was impressed by the package as a whole (both songs and playing were very good) but have to admit the first thing that grabbed my attention was the cover photo, which turned out to be lead vocalist Julie Westlake. I'd never heard of the band before but because the legendary Michael Wagener was at the production helm I figured I couldn't go wrong with their straight forward approach to melodic rock. Since then we've had a live CD, 2007's 'Strip Em Blind' and and another studio album, 2008's 'Deadly Passions', both capitalising on Julie's visual attributes to provide striking cover photographs and relying on guitarist Jeff Westlake to provide the bulk of the material songwise. Though neither was as good as the debut, I still found myself attracted to the band and Julie's vocal capabilities proved she was more than just a pretty face. 2011 sees Jeff & Julie Westlake return with another set of songs recorded under the Hydrogyn banner, but if I'm totally honest, even after repeated plays it's hardly going to raise the band's profile above that of a support act. From the very brief explanation from Jeff after the CD's final track, it seems that the songs were gathered together from various sources and had been partially created in the past, or were fragmented ideas that had failed to come to fruition.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Unfortunately during the course of playing 'Judgement' this becomes all too apparent. First impressions revealed a lack of cohesion, with too many songs worthy of the 'filler' tag. I've no doubting the band's ability, this was evident on the debut, but there has been no real development during the last few years to suggest Hydrogyn is nothing more than a time filler for Jeff and Julie. At times the playing is just too loose ('Big Star') and the production values a little on the thin side ('Too Late'). Guest appearances, by Doug Pinnick from Kings X and former guitarist Jeff Boggs, can't raise the quality above a mediocre level and overall the most overwhelming fault is a lack of melody or anything remotely immediate. The biggest culprits are opener 'Lost Reality' and 'Self Destruct', covers of songs by a little known band called Suffer, which are too repetitive.

Though riff oriented they are not overly heavy but the song structures struggle for an identity and the music seems to be searching for any sort of groove. Michael Wagener still maintains a very small involvement and it's his two tracks, 'Alone' and the melancholic 'Don't Be My Judge' that stand-out the most alongside an alternative version of 'Candles Light Your Face', which first appeared on 'Deadly Passions'. Even an extended cover of Fleetwood Mac's 'Gold Dust Woman' is just bland and meandering. If Hydrogyn are to progress they should look to collaborate with one or two recognised song-writers outside the band, or re-enlist the services of Jeff Boggs, who was an integral part of the song creation process when he was still in the line-up. Alternatively Julie should continue with a solo career as I believe she has a voice that suits songs of a more commercial nature. If you find yourself with a spare tenner and nothing to spend it on then the 'Judgement' CD is worth a listen ... make sure you get at least a fiver back in change though!

Dave Bott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

Powered by JReviews

Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2022  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 3 weeks ago
  • Berny : @bpomper: Could you pls. contact me at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • bpomper : if i bought the hard copy can i also download and if so how
  • bpomper : im checking to make sure my fireworks #98 was sent out transaction ending in 1241
  • Berny : @all: The download version of Fireworks #98 is available!
  • Berny : @RobC68: We really seem to share a love & hate relationship, right? ;) Pls. check your mail.
  • RobC68 : still waiting for download version of #98 to be available.....pathetic service
  • Berny : @iangreenfiel: The magazine is available in a number of WH Smith branches. Could you pls. contact me at «email» ? I will then send you the latest list of participating stores.
  • iangreenfiel : Can issue 97 only be ordered online? I've tried several branches of WHSmith and had no luck
  • Berny : @vialli999: I've just talked to the guys at Fireworks HQ, unfortunately, the print copy of #90 is no longer available. Sorry! :(
  • vialli999 : forget that last comment i found it....der
  • vialli999 : sorry but i must be really stupid how do i take out a subscription ?
  • vialli999 : I have the download i want a paper copy cheers tel
  • Berny : @vialli999: You get issue 90 from our download store. Would you like to purchase a physical copy?
  • Berny : You can pre - order FIREWORKS MAGAZINE #97 now!
  • Deeppurple#1 : Hi,I downloaded my free copy of issue #87 but I can't seem to open the file. Any advice?
  • Berny : RIP Alan Lancaster! :(
  • Berny : @Barneypippa: I forwarded your mail to the Fireworks team. You should receive a reply asap.
  • Barneypippa : My magazine (#96) hasnt arrived yet - should have been here last week
  • Rocktopia Te : @bakerstreetish: Pls. check your email for download instructions.
  • bakerstreeti : Hi, I just bought digital download #96. How will I be able to receive/access it? First time on this site. Thanks!
  • zom414 : Have they been posted out yet? Not received mine yet but may have the release date wrong!
  • Johns Band : Received glossy Fireworks 96 and one of best ever. I am still looking at pictures and "Revisit The Gods AOR Festive" should be great. Probably get download from issue 101 to save on space & it is read to me from audio voice. Already got Robben Ford Instrumental album "Pure" great stuff & Freddy King singing & guitar I love, so Bernie Marsden new album I will have on Amazon Prime. If you are into 70's Rock then new Help Yourself 6 CD Boxset + info will be good for you plus expert to pay no more
  • Berny : Fireworks #96 is out now! :)
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Pls. check your email!
  • Paul wiv : I have paid for issue 92 but it hasn't downloaded yet.
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich h├Ątte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site