Issa - 'The Storm' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     September 21, 2011    
0.0 (0)
9884   0   1   0   0   0




An outstanding addition to every AOR fan's collection.

It’s very hard not to view this album as anything other than a vehicle to showcase the outstanding vocals of Norwegian ISSA (Isabell Oversveen) who comes across as a mixture of Janet Gardner (Vixen) and Shania Twain with a hint of Delta Goodrem on some of her vocal phrasing. For those of you who already have her first album (Sign Of Angels) you know what to expect and here are another twelve songs to whet your appetite. For those not in the know, this is as sumptuous an AOR album that you could possibly get, this side of the Atlantic Ocean, but with the likes of the Martin brothers involved (Vega/House Of Lords/Khymera/Sunstorm), Robert Sall (Work Of Art) and Randy Goodrem (Toto/Steve Perry/Steve Lukather) among others, it shouldn’t come as a big surprise.

‘Looking For Love’ is a great keyboard-laden opener played at a frenetic pace with some very impassioned vocals whilst ‘Please Hold On’ which follows has some very smooth melodies with a lovely sweet chorus. In fact, play this album on shuffle and I don’t think the continuity and flow of the songs will suffer in any way. If it’s lovely pedal effect echo on the rhythm and a beautiful melodic pitch on the vocals that you want, then play ‘Two Hearts’. If it’s suggestive lyrics mixed with nice harmonics and superfluous keys with sugar-coated refrain on the chorus, stick ‘You’re Making Me’ on play. If you want a pacey, melodious song with a classy keyboard intro and more impassioned vocals from ISSA, then stick ‘We’re On Fire’ on.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

If I have to pick any stand out songs then it’s very difficult, because as good as they all are, it’s definitely ISSA’s vocals that are carrying them along as all the playing, particularly Daniel Flores’ drumming, is very subtle and understated, competent and necessary in all the right places rather than an overblown and outstanding showcase for musical dexterity. With the likes of Magnus Karlsson involved, it definitely shows incredible restraint. ‘What Does It Take’ probably just shades it for me as favourite song from the first two listens as it’s an excellent pacey melodic song with keyboards racing in conjunction with the riff to create an edgy feel, but there are three other early contenders. ‘Invincible’ is a beautiful Shania Twain-esque ballad that is simply fabulous. ‘Black Clouds’ is a wonderful heart-hitting, punchy melodic number with a great keyboard refrain and subtle understated solo and the title track ‘The Storm’ has ISSA almost serenading a cappella style with beautiful subtle notes interspersed like raindrops before the drums intervene and build the song. It has a striking mellifluous ending though that will excite a number of fans.

If I have to be picky then I don’t understand why ‘Gonna Stand By You’, with its broody opening and gorgeous chorus has a solo that fades out almost immediately after it has begun at the end of the song, and the second ballad ‘Too Late For Love’, despite great vocals, comes across as rather generic. However, on the whole, this album, with a wonderfully smooth production by Daniel Flores, would be an outstanding addition to every AOR fan's collection. Move over ladies! There’s a new girl in town. And her name is ISSA!

Carl Buxton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  January 2022  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 4 hours ago
  • vialli999 : forget that last comment i found it....der
  • vialli999 : sorry but i must be really stupid how do i take out a subscription ?
  • vialli999 : I have the download i want a paper copy cheers tel
  • Berny : @vialli999: You get issue 90 from our download store. Would you like to purchase a physical copy?
  • Berny : You can pre - order FIREWORKS MAGAZINE #97 now!
  • Deeppurple#1 : Hi,I downloaded my free copy of issue #87 but I can't seem to open the file. Any advice?
  • Berny : RIP Alan Lancaster! :(
  • Berny : @Barneypippa: I forwarded your mail to the Fireworks team. You should receive a reply asap.
  • Barneypippa : My magazine (#96) hasnt arrived yet - should have been here last week
  • Rocktopia Te : @bakerstreetish: Pls. check your email for download instructions.
  • bakerstreeti : Hi, I just bought digital download #96. How will I be able to receive/access it? First time on this site. Thanks!
  • zom414 : Have they been posted out yet? Not received mine yet but may have the release date wrong!
  • Johns Band : Received glossy Fireworks 96 and one of best ever. I am still looking at pictures and "Revisit The Gods AOR Festive" should be great. Probably get download from issue 101 to save on space & it is read to me from audio voice. Already got Robben Ford Instrumental album "Pure" great stuff & Freddy King singing & guitar I love, so Bernie Marsden new album I will have on Amazon Prime. If you are into 70's Rock then new Help Yourself 6 CD Boxset + info will be good for you plus expert to pay no more
  • Berny : Fireworks #96 is out now! :)
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Pls. check your email!
  • Paul wiv : I have paid for issue 92 but it hasn't downloaded yet.
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich hätte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!
  • Hysteria : GREAT MAGAZINE! Keep on rockin' guys!!!
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #95 is out now!
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Many thanks for your purchase, pls. check your mail.
  • Paul wiv : I have bought issue 89 on download but it has not appeared on my account
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site