CD Reviews

Wardrum - 'Spadework' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 12, 2011    
0.0 (0)
2827   0   1   0   0   0




An impressively solid album that should please the power metal cognoscenti.

Wardrum may be a new band, but the quartet is comprised of seasoned players, including a vocalist who has worked with Uli Jon Roth and Greek musicians who have played together in a number of bands (and most recently Horizon’s End) for quite a while. And it really shows, because in ‘Spadework’ we have an album of exuberant power metal that here and there is sprinkled with classic metal influences and also some progressive stylings. It is also an album of well-written songs complete with strong melodies, instrumentally performed with panache and technical prowess. Also for an album that was recorded on a very limited budget, most of it actually sounds really great.

The spirited ‘The Meaning Of Forever’ kick starts the album in confident style, and is followed by a song (‘Crest Of The Wave’) that deserves hearing by a wide audience. It is a wonderful number, with an amazing staccato riff, tremendous guitar solos and is so very, very catchy.‘In Dependence’ is a much more straight ahead rocker that really burrows into the consciousness while ‘Yesterday’ is a very capricious song with a slightly jazzy middle section and plenty to enthuse those with progressive leanings. There’s some great shredding too…’Circle Of Hate’ is another solid metal song, performed with conviction and including another blazing guitar solo and this leads onto the title track which at 7:25 is the longest on the album.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

Strident, multi-layered guitars set the scene here and it grows into a mid-paced song about hope. I assume that the wonderful Spanish guitar section at the end represents the gaining of a positive outcome.The obligatory ballad ‘Turn About’ comes next: a rather dramatic song with a rather Grecian feel to it instrumentally while vocally Piero Leporale goes for it as though serenading the passengers on a Vaporetto! It’s very, very strange within the context of the rest of the album. ‘Soultrip’ is a frenetic song with incessant double-kick drumming, ‘Inner God’ slowing proceedings to mid-tempo: an interesting and quite varied number with syncopated beats and a pretty good vocal performance. Closing song ‘Last Neverland’ and second longest here, exhibits all that is so promising about this debut as summarised previously. 

I do have to mention that the higher register singing on most of the songs could, perhaps, have gained from a “warmer” vocal style but nevertheless ‘Spadework’ is an impressively solid album that should please the power metal cognoscenti and is well worth checking out.

Paul Jerome Smith

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2017  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
     1  2  3  4
  5  6  7  8  91011

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 2 days ago
  • Berny : Fireworks #79 out now! Ye Banished Privateers video premiere! 14000 words interview with Harem Scarem! New album and live reviews!
  • Rocktopia Te : 20 new album and 10 new live reviews!
  • Berny : Thanks Rob, review was updated!
  • rocktopiarob : Hi in the Bad For Good review - please replace "Rundgren's absurdly genius guitar playing" with "Davey Johnstone's absurdly genius guitar playing"
  • LeChef : Thumbs up!!!
  • Central Elec : Five new live reviews!
  • Hysteria : Wow! GREAT Abums! What a fantastic read!!! Kudos to you guys for including an album review by "The Hoff". KITT will love it!!! : - )
  • Central Elec : Landmark reviews 4991 - 5000 are online
  • Berny : Landmark reviews 4981 - 4990 are online, have fun! :)
  • Central Elec : Landmark Album Reviews 4971 - 4980 are online.
  • Berny : Check out our EXCLUSIVE interview with André Andersen of ROYAL HUNT!
  • Berny : More information can be found here: «link»
  • Berny : @moorby_vj_li: Many thanks for your purchase. If you bought a physical copy of the magazine, you can download the bonus disc from the menu on top (Fireworks - > Bonus CD 77).
  • moorby_vj_li : Hi All, I have purchased Issue 77 but can not see a link to download the music, where would I go, thank you in advance
  • Berny : GRAVE DIGGER exclusive UK video premiere of 'Lawbreaker'! Check out the news!
  • Berny : The new Fireworks section is now live! In the TOP MENU bar, please navigate to "Fireworks" - > "Fireworks Online" to read interviews with Eclipse, Tokyo Motor Fist, House Of Lords, Art Of Anarchy, Battle Beast & Monster Truck.
  • Berny : Many thanks Casper! :)
  • Casper : Thanks Berny ordered
  • Berny : @Casper @all: Fireworks Magazine #78 news item is now online, bonus interviews will follow this weekend. We have some interesting stuff coming in the next couple of days, including an album reviews special.
  • Casper : Berny
  • Casper : sorry Berny
  • Casper : Sorry Berny
  • Casper : Thanks Benny
  • Berny : @Casper: Fireworks 78 is already avaiable from the Mini % Donwload Stores on Rocktopia. The full press release as well as the updated FW section will be posted tomorrow. Thanks for your patience!
  • Casper : Fireworks 78 any news
  • Berny : @EDUARDVH: Thank you! :)
  • Hysteria : Great new reviews guys! :)
  • SeaDog57 : thanks Berny I sent the email

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us