CD Reviews

Houston! - 'Mechanical Sunshine' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 16, 2011    
0.0 (0)
5491   0   1   0   0   0




This will appeal to all the Nu/Alternative Metal fans.

Houston! (with the exclamation mark) is an electro/alternative hard rock band, (bordering on metal), that originates from Piacenza in Italy.The band was formed in 2006 and in the first year they recorded their demo ‘Never Alcoholized’.In Feb 2008, the band released their debut album ‘Fast In Elegance’.They toured all over Europe after this effort and continued to gain a dedicated following.Most of the gigs sold out which lead to them signing a new record deal with Tanzan Music.Whilst working on their follow up record, their original drummer left the group and was replaced.The band currently consists of Niccolo Savinelli (vocals), Phil (guitar), Gaby Facchini (bass) and Giovanni Savinelli (drums).

Houston! kick off this release with a short intro before blasting into one of the catchiest tracks on the album.‘Planet Terror’ is a bombastic riff-driven rocker with an immensely infectious chorus.This song is a real attention grabber and certainly the highlight track.Other songs such as ‘Let Me Shout’ and ‘Velvet Pressure’ offer a similar guitar driven hard rock sound.But Houston! also has other strings to its bow.The likes of ‘Anghell Klown’ and ‘Black Rose’ are much heavier in the guitar department and have a very alternative metal feel to them.The music is much more aggressive and laced with techno twists and effects.There is also variety in the vocal delivery from spoken to screeched.‘Generation 09’ has a very anthem like feel to its lyrics and could become a fan favourite.As well as all this energy, Houston! offers three ballads, the best of which being ‘One Day’.This very much a melodic power balled with a very harmonic chorus.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

This album is definitely a raucous affair brimming with attitude and modern styling.This will appeal to all the Nu/Alternative Metal fans.Listeners to the likes of System Of A Down, Linkin Park and Papa Roach should find plenty of interest here.Those that enjoy metal with a bit of a techno twist such as Rammstein may also want to take a listen to this band.The album may not be an instant hit with fans but it does grow on you.The music is well played and has plenty of variety throughout the album.The riffs and progressions make for a blistering sound and the vocals are delivered with plenty of power.Given the multitude of effects etc added throughout the tracks, the mixing has also been handled well by the production team.Everything is crisp and it has that very modern polished feel to it.

This is a solid follow up album with plenty of modern appeal for fans of that type of genre although it may be a touch too techno filled for more traditional listeners, so go and sample the tracks at and see what you think

Dave Scott

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  July 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 5 days ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site