Concert Reviews

Iron Maiden (2011) Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     December 16, 2011    
0.0 (0)
6761   0   1   0   0   0


Iron Maiden - O2 Arena, London (UK) - 6th of August 2011.

By the time the lights dim for the intro of UFO’s ‘Doctor Doctor’ over the PA, the crowd is packed into the arena and expectations are high. ‘Satellite 15′ provides a lengthy intro with some snazzy sci-fi action on the video screens until the band blast on stage with ‘The Final Frontier’. It is clear at this early stage that the venues sound problems are alive and well, as Bruce’s vocals struggle to rise over the volume of the thunderous band behind him, this is something that steadily improves, however, and luckily doesn’t detract from the show. The first classic of the night is greeted with a deafening roar as the place goes wild for ’2 Minutes to Midnight’. This is a trend that follows through the gig – new songs are enjoyed and go down well, but with a slightly restrained crowd, while it’s party time for the older material! With only three dates left of this world tour, the band don’t show any signs of tiredness – they are all on fire tonight, particularly Adrian Smith who didn’t stop bouncing round the stage for two hours.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

One thing I’ve always admired is that Iron Maiden insist on remaining relevant, writing new material and playing it live, and they play each gig with a strong support of new material, and we are treated to tracks such as ‘The Talisman’ ‘Coming Home’ the haunting ‘Dance Of Death’ mixed in again with a classic like ‘The Trooper’ as the crowd goes mad once more. The excellent ‘The Wicker Man’ follows before the rousing ‘Blood Brothers’ gets the very appreciative crowd singing along again.The majority of fans are more than happy with the set list, however there is a portion of the crowd who don’t know the material, don’t seem to want to hear it, or don’t rate it so then just talk through those tracks! Definitely keeping every single member of the crowd happy, Iron Maiden blasted through the final four tracks, and each one was a classic through and through, as ‘The Evil That Men Do’ brings the first part of the set to a close. The band return with a brilliant rendition of the title track from the 1982 opus ‘Number Of The Beast’ followed by the memorable ‘Hallowed Be Thy Name’ and the Maiden anthem ‘Running Free’ brings this great performance to a close.

Iron Maiden has been around for ages, and they don’t seem to be getting any older. Bruce still runs around the stage, leaping and sweeping and interacting with the crowd like he did when I first saw him perform with the band nearly 30 years ago, and the rest of the band run and jump and pull shapes whilst playing entirely note-perfect renditions, and that why Iron Maiden are one of the true greats of British Heavy Metal.

Mark Warburton


Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  August 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
       1  2
  3  4  5  6  7  8  9

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 3 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site