Fireworks

Strangeways - 'Native Sons' http://www.rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/fe/5d/d0/1834_strangewaysnativesons_1325701083.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 04, 2012    
 
0.0
 
5.0 (3)
9297   0   1   0   0   1

Artist

Title

Label

The definitive version of possibly the best British AOR album of all time.

After the short tenure of vocalist Tony Liddle, the Stewart brothers and Jim Drummond went back to the drawing board and decided to have another shot at convincing their first choice singer to come over and join the band, with American vocalist Terry Brock finally doing just that. So perfect was the fit that Brock ended up co-writing a majority of the record with the previously autocratic Ian Stewart, and with new keyboard player David 'Munch' Moore replacing Alan Thomson they went back to the familiar surroundings of Powerplay Studios in Zurich with producer John Punter and proceeded to take the melodic rock world by storm, or at least the section of it that were in the know.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site


Over the years I've found it's easier to write a bad review than a good one, so suffice to say that nothing I could write about this album could come close to expressing the pleasure it's given me since I picked it up on the day of its release back in January 1988, and never more so than listening to this splendid remaster. There's the irresistible drum groove and guitar riff of 'Dance With Somebody', the sheer melody of 'Only A Fool', Terry Brock's voice breaking through the stratosphere on 'So Far Away' and Ian Stewart's masterful guitar on the dynamic 'Where Do We Go From Here?', all with brilliant arrangements that build each track into a masterpiece. The Brock written 'Goodnight L.A.' is another soaring ballad that proves he was listening to a lot of Steve Perry at the time, whilst the brooding 'Shake The Seven' is one of many tracks that highlight the amazing musicianship in the band, with a drum beat and bass line to die for beneath Ian Stewart's inventive guitar parts and 'Munch' Moore's outside-the-box keyboard punctuations. The upbeat 'Empty Streets', the hypnotic 'Never Going To Lose It' and the haunting 'Face To Face' make up the rest of this perfect album, along with my personal favourite, the out and our rocker of the album; 'Stand Up And Shout'. The latter is an adrenaline rush that never fails to get the heart racing, and does so twice here because the sole bonus track is a great live version that morphs into 'Breaking Down The Barriers' from the debut, which sounds especially good with a Terry Brock vocal.

As usual the great remastering of Jon Astley breathes new life into what was already a genre classic, and with the bonus track and Dave Ling's enlightening essay, it's the definitive version of possibly the best British AOR album of all time.

Phil Ashcroft

Share this on the web.

User reviews

Average user rating from: 3 user(s)

Overall rating 
 
5.0
Production Quality 
 
5.0  (3)
Music Quality 
 
5.0  (3)
Artwork  
 
5.0  (3)
Value for Money 
 
5.0  (3)
So, "Native Sons" or "Walk In The Fire"? Which one is the best? I don't know...What I do know is that both are one of the best albums I've ever heard in my music-driven life.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Production Quality 
 
5.0
Music Quality 
 
5.0
Artwork  
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Johns Band February 26, 2017
Last updated: August 07, 2017
View all my reviews (1)

Strangeways Native Sons

So, "Native Sons" or "Walk In The Fire"? Which one is the best? I don't know...What I do know is that both are one of the best albums I've ever heard in my music-driven life.

Was this review helpful to you? 
This is great CD with some hard rock to it. Native Sons got great guitar work, gorgeous melodies, lush keyboards, solid songwriteing and above all Terry Brock's powerful vocal performances. Terry Brock previously sang for Kansas and Steve Morse. Worth checking out of Amazon. If you like Bad English, Journey, Mountain then you like Native Sons.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Production Quality 
 
5.0
Music Quality 
 
5.0
Artwork  
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Johns Band February 26, 2017
Last updated: August 30, 2017
View all my reviews (1)

Strangeways Native Sons

This is great CD with some hard rock to it. Native Sons got great guitar work, gorgeous melodies, lush keyboards, solid songwriteing and above all Terry Brock's powerful vocal performances. Terry Brock previously sang for Kansas and Steve Morse. Worth checking out of Amazon. If you like Bad English, Journey, Mountain then you like Native Sons.

Was this review helpful to you? 
All of Strangeways albums worth Buying. Check them out. Native Sons was released in 1987 is and classic rock album.
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Production Quality 
 
5.0
Music Quality 
 
5.0
Artwork  
 
5.0
Value for Money 
 
5.0
Reviewed by Johns Band February 26, 2017
Last updated: March 12, 2017
View all my reviews (1)

Strangeways

All of Strangeways albums worth Buying. Check them out. Native Sons was released in 1987 is and classic rock album.

Was this review helpful to you? 
 


Comments (1)add comment

Johns Band said:

...
I have large record collection with most of Rock genres except Grunge. I bought first issue of Fireworks but sadly only bought issue 63 afterwards. I found this wonderful and best Website the other day were I found for first time Strangeways. Strangewayes "Native Sons" Is one of great albums from Rock histories, with riffs that rock and already mention Drum beat and bass lines.
I'm listening 0n Spotiy and will buy this great album.
 
February 26, 2017
Votes: +1

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


busy

Member Login



Calendar

<<  December 2021  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
    1  2  3  4  5
  6  7  8  9101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 2 days ago
  • Berny : You can pre - order FIREWORKS MAGAZINE #97 now!
  • Deeppurple#1 : Hi,I downloaded my free copy of issue #87 but I can't seem to open the file. Any advice?
  • Berny : RIP Alan Lancaster! :(
  • Berny : @Barneypippa: I forwarded your mail to the Fireworks team. You should receive a reply asap.
  • Barneypippa : My magazine (#96) hasnt arrived yet - should have been here last week
  • Rocktopia Te : @bakerstreetish: Pls. check your email for download instructions.
  • bakerstreeti : Hi, I just bought digital download #96. How will I be able to receive/access it? First time on this site. Thanks!
  • zom414 : Have they been posted out yet? Not received mine yet but may have the release date wrong!
  • Johns Band : Received glossy Fireworks 96 and one of best ever. I am still looking at pictures and "Revisit The Gods AOR Festive" should be great. Probably get download from issue 101 to save on space & it is read to me from audio voice. Already got Robben Ford Instrumental album "Pure" great stuff & Freddy King singing & guitar I love, so Bernie Marsden new album I will have on Amazon Prime. If you are into 70's Rock then new Help Yourself 6 CD Boxset + info will be good for you plus expert to pay no more
  • Berny : Fireworks #96 is out now! :)
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Pls. check your email!
  • Paul wiv : I have paid for issue 92 but it hasn't downloaded yet.
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich hätte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!
  • Hysteria : GREAT MAGAZINE! Keep on rockin' guys!!!
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #95 is out now!
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Many thanks for your purchase, pls. check your mail.
  • Paul wiv : I have bought issue 89 on download but it has not appeared on my account
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu
  • Berny : @Adolfo: I've also just sent you the magazine via WeTransfer. But please check you junk mail folder, the mail was definitely sent earlier today.
  • Berny : Hi @Adolfo: Have you already checked your spam folder? If the mail cannot be found, pls. contact me at «email»
  • Adolfo : «email»
  • Adolfo : My e - mail
  • Adolfo : I don't have any e - mail.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us

FacebookTwitterYoutubeGoogle

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site