DVD & Blu-ray Reviews

Paul Rodgers - 'Live At Montreux 1994' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     January 28, 2012    
0.0 (0)
8462   0   1   0   0   0




Essential for all Rodgers fans, hardcore or casual.

In 1994, the legendary Paul Rodgers of Free and Bad Company performed in Montreux, with a set list spanning classic songs by both bands, as well as exploring Paul's blues influences with tracks from his Muddy Waters tribute album. What also makes this well worth checking out is the band backing Paul here - Jason Bonham is on drums, underpinning the work of rhythm guitarist Ian Hatton and bassist John Smithson who were Bonham's own band. Better still, lead guitar duties are fulfilled by Journey superstar Neal Schon, and it's Schon's presence here that really sells it for me.

Kicking off with Free's 'Travelling Man', the pairing of Bonham's drums and Schon riffing like a fiend make it rock like never before. Capped off by Paul's classic voice (in top form), he pushes himself to deliver a top notch vocal on every track. I can see purists might argue Schon has lost the feel of the track, in a manner similar to when John Sykes was accused of making old Thin Lizzy songs a bit too rocky. But Paul must be happy with it, because similar treatment is given to the timeless 'Wishing Well'. Sadly, however, there is one downside: a distinct lack of quality backing singers in this band! Mercifully, the songs which require any backing vocals are few and far between, but in the case of 'Wishing Well' they are somewhat tentative to say the least.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Further great songs wheeled out including 'Louisiana Blues' and 'Fire And Water', then Paul decides one guitar hero isn't enough, so he summons his future Queen collaborator Brian May to join Schon in a riff-tastic rendition of 'Good Morning Little Schoolgirl', 'I'm Ready' and a brilliant 'Little Bit Of Love'. He and Schon look like they are having a great time trading lead lines. After Brian leaves, Paul adds Steve Lukather to the mix for 'Feel Like Making Love' and 'The Hunter' among others. Brian May returns for the timeless 'All Right Now' before a truly special version of 'Crossroads', which rocks like a mother, due in no small part to the fact Schon, Lukather and May are all on stage together playing it! The finale of 'Hoochie Coochie Man' also features all three of them, along with blues masters Luther Allison and Eddie Kirkland, flanked by Robert Lucas, Kenny Neal and Sherman Robertson from Canned Heat. It finishes off a terrific set in unique style.

With Rodgers in this kind of form and Schon blazing out such a collection of great tracks, this has become one of my favourite Rodgers live shows. As Paul states at the beginning, sure the hair and clothes are dodgy, but look past that and you'll find some real gems. It's a superb show, well worth getting. Also note you can buy it on CD too, which, for once, doesn't omit anything from the show at all. Essential for all Rodgers fans, hardcore or casual.

James Gaden

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 42 minutes ago
  • Mitch Perry : Can I have my download link, please? Issue 92 22 Sep 2020 07:57:11 BST Paypal Transaction ID: 1BS38875MX3700248
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site