Fireworks

CD Reviews

Gotthard - 'Firebirth' http://www.rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/fb/44/4c/2159_GotthardFirebirth_1335890264.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     May 01, 2012    
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
7876   0   1   0   0   0

Artist

Artist

Title

Label

Not the return I had hoped for.

Okay, let’s get something clear from the start here; I have been a fan of Gotthard for as long as I can remember. I was devastated when Steve Lee was killed in a motorcycle accident and assumed that another of my fave bands was no more (Lee died on a motorcycle tour of the United States in October 2010. In the freak accident, a truck lost control on a wet motorway and drove into a group of parked motorcycles, one of which hit the singer who had stopped to put on rain gear). Then I heard that the band intended to carry on with a new singer and whilst surprised I have looked forward to this release ever since.

So with new boy Nic Maeder installed on not only vox but guitar and keyboards too, Gotthard are back with Firebirth. All the usual elements are present mid paced rockers assorted ballads and a decent preview track (Remember It’s Me). So why then can’t I find anything to like in this album?

Maede has a raspy and oddly familiar sounding voice, not as melodic or soulful as Steve Lee and I think this may be the first problem. Whilst I’m not an advocate of hiring sound-alikes (look at the increasingly ridiculous YES situation) it is apparent that the late Mr Lee’s voice was so much a part of what made this band great that perhaps this is too much of a departure?

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site


But if the songs were truly great then perhaps the vocal situation would be easier to overcome, and this is where the real issue lies I’m afraid. Even after repeated (forced) plays there just isn’t anything here that stands up to past glories. ‘Starlight’ starts the album quite promisingly with an almost Aerosmith like intro but then gives way to a plodding rhythm. The chorus is okay but there is something missing here. Even ignoring the nonsense lyrics, Starlight just doesn’t grab you like an opening track should. It’s not until we get to ‘Remember My Name’, the first ballad, that there is anything worthy of mention but again this is fairly pedestrian compared to past glories.

It’s strange listening to next track ‘Fight’ because I actually found myself wondering who this band was and had to remind myself that this was Gotthard! Ballad number 2, ‘Tell Me’, starts off well enough but again fails to ignite despite being well arranged and played.

This is actually one of the most frustrating reviews I have ever done as there is no obvious discernable reason that I dislike this album except that the songs don’t have any real passion or soul in them. Gotthard have always reached out and grabbed this listener in the past and rewarded repeated plays but that is just not the case with ‘Firebirth’ I’m afraid. A friend who was visiting assumed I was playing some obscure 80s ‘hair’ band and I guess I can see what she meant, so maybe the problem is that this album is a little dated in both its feel and execution.

So not a great collection of songs I’m afraid and not the return I had hoped for. There is nothing actually bad about the album but for whatever the reason it just doesn’t grab me at all.

Perhaps track 8 sums it up best for me…The Story’s Over!
A great shame.

Nikki Tylar

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

 


Comments (10)add comment

Marco said:

...
Couldn't disagree any more with this review. Great album!!!!
 
May 03, 2012
Votes: +1

BLM said:

...
Well, this review sums up my own personal feelings exactly. And I'm a MASSIVE fan of Gotthard's previous output ...
 
May 03, 2012
Votes: +0

benny said:

...
i can only say that i've heard only 2 songs from the new album and they sounded great. i'm also a great fan off gotthard and i hope that the rest of the album is as good as these two songs!
 
May 21, 2012
Votes: +0

SRF said:

...
Bought the album ... Love it ! .... What more needs to be said ....
 
June 02, 2012
Votes: +1

ChrisG said:

...
I really tried to like this album, but it simply doesn't live up to the expectations I had. What a shame, Gotthard is one of my favorite bands ... smilies/sad.gif
 
June 02, 2012
Votes: -2

Hysteria said:

...
It's not a bad album, but it's not that great either.
 
June 03, 2012
Votes: +0

BlockerBrothers said:

...
I was honestly hoping to hate this cd as I was a big fan of Steve's and thus I think a part of me wanted this new album to fail based solely on the fact that they kept going without him. But if I put my bias aside, this cd actually isn't all that bad. Some great tunes on this cd! At the very least, it's worth a listen.....if you can put any bias you have (like I do) aside.
 
June 04, 2012
Votes: +1

Stumpy said:

...
This review is so far off the mark. Best impartial review I have read is at www.metaloverlord.co.uk. No prejudice there.
 
July 11, 2012
Votes: +2

andy said:

...
the reviewer is spot-on,and as a huge fan I am so sorry to say this. its such a mess of an album.No song grabs you- and the rock songs just dont develop or if they do get going,they stop or change abruptly. Big disappointment
 
November 20, 2012
Votes: +0

another thing coming said:

...
decent album, always been a fan of Nic Maeder's vocals. Check out his old band ... Maeder: Another Thing Coming smilies/grin.gif
 
December 21, 2013
Votes: +0

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


busy

Member Login



Calendar

<<  September 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
        1
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8
  9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 week, 3 days ago
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!
  • bpomper : Thanks didnt of that. I still have not heard about fireworks 88 was it sent out. Thankyou
  • Rocktopia Te : @bpomper: For security reasons, we removed your previous message. Please do not post your private e - mail address. Many thanks for your understanding.
  • bpomper : Thanks for the reply. I see download but can you confirm that hardcopy was or is sent ou .thanks.the email i used is inder the contact me info of the website
  • Berny : @bpomper: Apologies for your troubles. Where did you send the email to? We haven't received anything. I will send you a longer reply via mail. Also, you can download the free CD from the "Fireworks" menu on top, but the CD links are only shown if you are logged in.
  • bpomper : 3rd email inquiring about my purchase of fireworks #88. i purchased on the 2oth of sept and today is the 24 with no response...paypal has taken the payment. should i have a down load of the cd for mu usa magazine. Looking forward to an answer
  • bpomper : hello i purchased fireworks #88 through paypal on9/23 and have not recieved an email from rocktopia. purchase is for a hard copy of the mag. should i have cd download instructions.when should i expect it
  • Berny : @Johns Band: I've just sent you an e - mail. Best regards, B.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us

FacebookTwitterYoutubeGoogle

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site