Lostboy (Jim Kerr) solo album news

LOSTBOY! is the self-titled debut album from (new artist) LOSTBOY! AKA JIM KERR, the musical alter-ego of Simple Minds’ legendary singer/songwriter.  It is released in the UK & Ireland on 17th May 2010 on earMUSIC, the international pop rock label of Edel Group, distributed by Absolute via Universal.

Produced by Jez Coad (Simple Minds last 2 albums) and featuring Charlie Jones on bass (Robert Plant, Page & Plant, Goldfrapp) alongside long-time Simple Minds drummer Mel Gaynor, Lostboy! showcases a new musical alter ego for Jim, whilst retaining strong links with his 40-million selling, 33-year career with Simple Minds.


Lostboy! is all about big melodic themes, turbo charged rhythms and guitars that shine.  It is a noisy and juvenile explosion that comes from a wise head and a sophisticated heart; a rock and roll clatter that involves sequencers and hidden symphonies. It is also an eclectic collection, with tracks ranging from the Joy Division-esque, electro-tinged “She Fell in Love With Silence” via pop gems such as title track “Lostboy!” and “Bulletproof Heart”, to the instantly recognisable Simple Minds sound of  “Shadowland”.


The album will be released in 4 formats; a standard 11-track CD; 12” Vinyl;  a limited edition CD featuring 3 bonus studio tracks, and a collectors edition bundle which includes both the CD and a 7” vinyl single featuring covers of Velvet Underground’s “What Goes On” and The Verve’s “Lucky Man”.


Lostboy! AKA Jim Kerr says:  "Unbelievably I seemed to have reconnected with the spirit of the kid I was when I first started to make rock music. As if I had come face to face with the lost boy that I had left behind. I wanted to make music that reflected the rediscovery of the energy with which I had reconnected. I am delighted with the result and convinced that Lostboy! AKA is something special that will grow quickly over the next years in parallel with the ongoing great story of Simple Minds."

Tracklistings for all formats (CD, 12” Vinyl, CD Ltd Ed, 7” Vinyl + CD (Collectors Edition):


CD and 12” Vinyl LP:


01. Refugee

02. She Fell In Love With Silence

03. Shadowland

04. Return Of The King

05. Red Letter Day

06. Remember Asia

07. Bulletproof Heart

08. Lostboy!

09. Nail Through My Heart

10. Solo Man Solo Head

11. The Wait




CD Ltd. Edition:  Same track listing as CD plus 3 bonus studio tracks


1. Mr Silversmith

2. Karma To This Rain

3. Sad Stone Child


7” Vinyl+CD (Collectors Edition): 7” A-side What Goes On (a Velvet Underground song) B-side Lucky Man (a Verve song)


Lostboy!AKA Jim Kerr will perform some small intimate dates in May including:


Fri  21st            Aberdeen        Warehouse                 0844 847 2319

Sat 22nd            Glasgow         King Tuts                 0141 221 5279            SOLD OUT

Sun 23rd            London            The Borderline             08448 472 465            SOLD OUT


Online tickets for Aberdeen and London from  Online for Glasgow  Doors in Aberdeen and London 7pm


James “Jim“ Kerr is the founder, songwriter and voice of Simple Minds, one of the most influential British bands to emerge from the Post-Punk revolution of 1978. After their “independent” early years, the band developed into stadium stars, enjoying worldwide chart success with a raft of genre-defining singles including “Don‘t You (Forget About Me)”, “Alive And Kicking” and “Mandela Day”. Bands including Stereophonics, Manic Street Preachers, Cardigans, and Kasabian regularly cite Simple Minds as their formative influence.
Share this on the web.

Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters

busy << Back

Member Login


<<  October 2021  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 5 days ago
  • Berny : RIP Alan Lancaster! :(
  • Berny : @Barneypippa: I forwarded your mail to the Fireworks team. You should receive a reply asap.
  • Barneypippa : My magazine (#96) hasnt arrived yet - should have been here last week
  • Rocktopia Te : @bakerstreetish: Pls. check your email for download instructions.
  • bakerstreeti : Hi, I just bought digital download #96. How will I be able to receive/access it? First time on this site. Thanks!
  • zom414 : Have they been posted out yet? Not received mine yet but may have the release date wrong!
  • Johns Band : Received glossy Fireworks 96 and one of best ever. I am still looking at pictures and "Revisit The Gods AOR Festive" should be great. Probably get download from issue 101 to save on space & it is read to me from audio voice. Already got Robben Ford Instrumental album "Pure" great stuff & Freddy King singing & guitar I love, so Bernie Marsden new album I will have on Amazon Prime. If you are into 70's Rock then new Help Yourself 6 CD Boxset + info will be good for you plus expert to pay no more
  • Berny : Fireworks #96 is out now! :)
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Pls. check your email!
  • Paul wiv : I have paid for issue 92 but it hasn't downloaded yet.
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich hätte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!
  • Hysteria : GREAT MAGAZINE! Keep on rockin' guys!!!
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #95 is out now!
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Many thanks for your purchase, pls. check your mail.
  • Paul wiv : I have bought issue 89 on download but it has not appeared on my account
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu
  • Berny : @Adolfo: I've also just sent you the magazine via WeTransfer. But please check you junk mail folder, the mail was definitely sent earlier today.
  • Berny : Hi @Adolfo: Have you already checked your spam folder? If the mail cannot be found, pls. contact me at «email»
  • Adolfo : «email»
  • Adolfo : My e - mail
  • Adolfo : I don't have any e - mail.
  • Berny : @Adolfo: Pls. check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • Adolfo : I have order the #94 but I can't find the download

Only registered users are allowed to post

Quote of the day

"An album without a hit single is like a girl with a real short mini-skirt, [but] wearing underwear." (Gregg Giuffia, House Of Lords) - Quotes collected by Dave Ling (

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site