Vengeance - 'Crystal Eye' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     June 12, 2012    
0.0 (0)
3586   0   1   0   0   0




A great Metal album.

Where to start with this review? It’s listed as Vengeance’s ninth studio album but is effectively made up of Chris Slade’s Steel Circle AC/DC covers band with Slade himself on drums, ex Alice Cooper guitarist Keri Kelli, bassist Chris Glen (ex MSG) and sole surviving Vengeance member Leon Goewie on vocals. The only other Vengeance connection is with Timo Somers (son of the late long time member Jan who sadly passed on in January 2011) guesting on guitars. With the majority of the music and production handled by Michael Voss (Mad Max/Bonfire/Casanova) plus his co-writing credits with Leon, it has that slick, smooth, melodic sheen synonymous with Mr Voss’ work and I feel the traditional Vengeance elements such as their charm and humour coupled with the odd surprise instrumentation has been sacrificed.

Having said that, this is still a terrific album, particularly the title track ‘Crystal Eye’, written incidentally by ex member Arjen Lucassen whom I’ve previously enjoyed meeting. It has all the hallmarks and great arrangement of his Ayreon project and is a majestic song full of atmospheric keys, rhythmic bass and pitch perfect tonal guitar melodies. Equally as good is the ballad ‘Missing’, well written by Voss with lovely Spanish guitar embellishment and a beautiful harmony solo coupled with Goewie’s passionate vocals. Elsewhere you have the hard driving Rocker ‘Me And You’ with Slade’s metronomic drumming, ‘Bad To The Bone’ heavy and full of pounding rhythms with the familiar Goewie growl atop an undercurrent reminiscent of Bonfire.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

The Michael Voss influence is again apparent on ‘Shock Me Now’ as Goewie sings with Voss-style phrasing different to anything previously in Vengeance. A hard and heavy number remarkable for an arpeggio strewn solo and Goewie’s screams although his voice has definitely lost some of its smoothness over the years. ‘Five Knuckle Shuffle’ (semi-suggestive?) has some great stanza singing and Michael Voss style harmonies mixed with a dirty guitar sound whilst ‘Desperate Women’ has a heavy crunching guitar intro before segueing into mainstream driving Metal with more impassioned screams from Goewie.

‘Barbeque’ is the only nod to the past as it’s quite tongue in cheek and features the first modern day reference to Facebook in its lyrics as far as I’m aware. It also has a familiar Bonfire undercurrent with music by Hans Ziller. The surprise song on the album, however, has to be ‘Whole Lot Of Metal’, written by former Sabbath vocalist Tony Martin and keyboardist Geoff Nicholls with Steve Marin. I don’t know how it came to Voss’ or Goewie’s attention but it’s a traditional Rocker different from Voss and Ziller’s compositions. Also worth mentioning ‘Promise Me’ is a semi-ballad that has a gorgeous melodious guitar tone and a nice fitting tribute to Jan Somer ends the album with a previously unreleased live solo showcasing his clean and fluid picking style.

Whether or not Goewie tours as Vengeance with this line-up remains to be seen but taken in isolation this is still undeniably a great Metal album.

Carl Buxton

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  June 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  1  2  3  4  5  6  7
  8  91011121314

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 21 hours ago
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site