John DuCann - 'The Many Sides Of... 1967 - 1980' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     June 14, 2012    
0.0 (0)
3847   0   1   0   0   0

Collection by an overlooked UK six-string slinger.

Best known for his time with Atomic Rooster, guitarist and singer John DuCann’s career was an accomplished one, covering Pop, Prog and good old Heavy Rock. Sadly the talented riff-man died last year, just as the finishing touches were being put to this collection of his work which covers five bands - six if you include a reformed stint with Rooster, as well as an at the time unreleased solo album.

DuCann’s first serious band were the Psychedelic Pop act The Attack and while ‘Magic In The Air’ and ‘Mr Pinnodmy’s Dilemma’, relied on Syd Barrett era Pink Floyd for inspiration, they do show the burgeoning six string prowess with which DuCann would go on to impress for many a year. By 1969 DuCann had moved onto the altogether heavier and subsequently more interesting Andromeda, with ‘Too Old’ sitting in Uriah Heep/Deep Purple territory, while the ambitious and intricate three part ‘Return To Sanity’ covers everything from acoustic and vocal sections to fiery guitar histrionics, becoming the sort of thing that fans of 60’s and 70’s Hard Rock will lap up.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

When an offer came for DuCann to join Atomic Rooster the guitarist jumped at the opportunity, although it has to be said that in truth it is his playing that really stands out on the three songs featured here. ‘Tomorrow Night’ is an unmistakable piece of DuCann as he trades licks with keyboard player Vincent Crane, although the gritty ‘Devil’s Answer’ and the stomping ‘Night Living’ are also the sound of a musician and band in top form. Ultimately Crane would opt to take the Rooster in a different direction, cutting short a line-up that was on fire at the time - with DuCann and drummer Paul Hammond forming the Bluesier, if no less heavy Bullet, who were forced to change their name to Hard Stuff after a legal dispute. The five tracks from both incarnations of that band which feature here are undoubted highlights of a universally excellent collection of songs. Sadly Hard Stuff fell apart, mainly due to a serious car accident in which DuCann was badly injured, with the guitarist then moving onto a solo project that featured Status Quo members Francis Rossi and Andy Bown as well as future Quo drummer Pete Kircher alongside Gillan bassist John McCoy for two wonderful tracks which add a commercial touch to DuCann’s always excellent guitar work. By 1980 it was back to Atomic Rooster, with two stinging tracks from the band’s reformation closing out this compilation in fine style.

An oft overlooked UK six-string slinger, this collection really highlights the strength of musicianship and compositional skills that John DuCann possessed throughout his career, something emphasised beautifully in the excellent liner notes which feature contributions from the aforementioned McCoy.

Steven Reid

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  March 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 3 days, 10 hours ago
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @l.thijs: Apologies for the delay, your digital copy can now be downloaded from your "My Downloads" section.
  • l.thijs : Hi Fireworks Magazine. I made a purchase on 10 nov and I paid by Paypall. I bought the #85 fireworks mag download for GBP3,50. But I didn,t receive anything. Please can you find out what's going on?
  • kazooba : I have digital versions of every issue from 27 thru 88, any way I can get issues 1 - 26 with cd's digitally?
  • Berny : @SeaDog57: The links are in the Fireworks menu. Have you tried scrolling down? Maybe your screen size is too small...
  • SeaDog57 : Berny; there are only links up to Fireworks 86. Which is kinda strange because i already downloaded CD 87 but i'm looking for the link to CD 88...Chris
  • Rocktopia Te : @Johns Band: Can you please contact us here: «email»
  • Johns Band : Fireworks Magazine 88 did not arrive by post. paid by PayPal. Any Suggestion.
  • Berny : @bpomper: Can you pls. contact the Rocktopia team here: «email»
  • bpomper : i found the problem..old email i can not access.i have tried to change it by editing my info but it wont allow. any suggestions
  • Berny : @bpomper: A reply was sent yesterday, We recommend checking your spam/junk mail to see if our message was filtered there. The magazine was already sent to your shipping address. Please let me know if you do not receive it within the next couple of days. Thanks for your patience!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site