Pearl Handled Revolver - 'Colossus' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     June 21, 2012    
0.0 (0)
5040   0   1   0   0   0


All killer no filler.

There is something satisfyingly British about ‘Colossus’, the debut album from the Bedford based blues rock five piece Pearl Handed Revolver. It’s an album that basks in the glory of the late 60’s and early 70’s when British bands like The Animals, Cream, Free, Led Zeppelin and Deep Purple ruled the world and I can hear elements of these artists woven into the relaxed but hard hitting, psychedelic blues of Pearl Handed Revolver. The thing about this type of music is that it effortlessly transcends the fads and trends of the last four decades and is just as relevant now as it ever has been. You just need to look at the recent success of bands like Rival Sons for proof of that.

This album is ‘Colossus’ by name and colossal by nature containing ten tracks of exquisitely constructed hard rock. Recorded live the studio, the sound is so honest and authentic that I’m sure if you listened close enough you could hear the hum of the tubes in the amplifiers or the squeak of the kick drum pedal. There’s no studio trickery, no bullshit just five supremely talented guys in a room creating music from the heart. It makes you wish that all albums could be made this way doesn’t it?

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

Anyway, before I get all teary eyed and sentimental what about the songs? Well the album kicks off with a couple of groovy rockers ‘Stone Thrower’ and ‘Maybe In Time’ driven by Simon Rinaldo’s superlative Hammond organ patterns and the intuitive feel of Andy Paris’ guitar. Now I’m a real sucker for the Hammond organ and it (or its modern equivalent at any rate) is all over this album either providing the main riff or just adding colour or texture to the songs. On ‘Woman Made A Man Out Of Me’ the band delve into the Delta Blues with a real down n’dirty riff and some lovely blues harp touches. Vocalist Lee Vernon’s voice has a smokey, roughly hewn charm about it. On this track he sounds like Billy Gibbons after a night on the tequila and it fits the mood very well. The acoustic intro to ‘Resonate’ has a real Led Zep III feel and builds into one of my favourite cuts on the album in all its restrained beauty and power. The rhythm and blues/soul of ‘Stop Me Dead’ is up next followed by another cracking ballad ‘She Can Dance’. The Hammond motif of ‘White Lines’ harks back to the sound that The Animal made famous all those years ago. The album closes with ‘I Will Rise’ and ‘Colossus’, a couple of psychedelic blues monsters, that just drip with menace and emotion.

I just can’t say enough good things about this album which I can truly say is all killer no filler. But don’t take my word for it, check it out for yourself and I guarantee that you too will be captivated by what it has to offer.

Alister Strachan

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (1)add comment

Bingo king said:

What an album and live they just are top drawer!!!!! In a time when music were good they would be massive!!!!! I only hope they are.........
October 28, 2012
Votes: +0

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  May 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 1 week ago
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???
  • Berny : @tomandpam: Many thanks for your purchase. The download instructions were sent yesterday, please contact me at «email» should you haven't received the email.
  • tomandpam : I paid for a download on issue 89 and didn't receive the download. Please let me know when I can get it. Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Fireworks Magazine #89 will be available at selected UK based newsagents on December 16th. The digital version can already be purchased in our Download Store.
  • zom414 : When's the next mag due for release?
  • Berny : @el nowy: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. Pls. check your mail!
  • el nowy : Hi, how long does it take for my download license to be available? I purchased it 3 days ago. Thanks!

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site