Peepshow - 'Brand New Breed' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     June 23, 2012    
0.0 (0)
5235   0   1   0   0   0





A vibrant, aggressive, melodic and memorable album.

Wow, I was absolutely miles off with my first impression of this band! Without a press release to accompany the album, the look of the artwork and the photo on the back made me guess that Peepshow were a metal band from Sweden or Finland. I put the album on, and the atmospheric intro track 'Wake Up Call' is a dark and brooding slice of instrumental menace, with audio from TV news reports mixed in - and then 'Let Go' kicks in, which is a keyboard dotted rocker with a hard edged guitar sound. I'd probably file it more like modern rock than metal, but it's definitely more melodic than some nu-metal bands I have heard. Then I check out the band's website and discover they are Scottish. That will teach me to judge an album by their cover!

Peepshow have honed their craft on the live stage, after supporting bands like Crashdiet, Backyard Babies and Duff McKagan's Loaded, and frankly I could see their brand of contemporary yet melodic rock going down well with all those fanbases - indeed, Peepshow song writer Johnny Gunn co-wrote with Crashdiet on 'Generation Wild'. 'Live Free Or Die' has a relentless rampage of guitars, nicely offset by a memorable and anthemic chorus. The production is crystal clear, allowing vocalist Gunn to soar above the superb lead guitar work of Rusty Gill and the crunching rhythm playing of Dagan, underpinned by the pounding bass of Hex and Hammy's drum work.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

'Trouble' is another riff heavy beast with a classic chorus that you can sing along with after one listen. The more ethereal 'Only A Dream' with it's lush keyboard effects adds a nice element of light to the record, before the heads down rocker of 'All Or Nothing' picks the pace up again. I love the guitar sound on this album and I have to applaud the band for the way they have meshed that tone with a modern production sound, without sacrificing the synths and keyboards or the huge choruses.

The band has enough elements of their own sound and look, along with enough quality, to stand out from the crowd. There's a wealth of strong material on this album, all well produced and written. In fact, that would probably be my only criticism - at fourteen songs, the album runs at almost an hour, which I pointed out in another review is just a bit too long for me. I think losing a couple of the rockier tracks (of which there are many) would have made for a sleeker and more varied record which would have left the listener just wanting to hear a little more. Other than that, Peepshow have to be commended for a vibrant, aggressive, melodic and memorable album. Visit their site to hear a song for free and judge for yourself!

James Gaden

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  September 2020  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 day, 19 hours ago
  • Berny : @Hysteria & @KI2000: Many thanks for your kind words! :)
  • Hysteria : Received my download copy almost immediately and downloaded 50 magazines for free. Cannot complain! Thanks guys!!!
  • KI2000 : Love the new issue guys, great magazine!
  • Berny : @Mugi89: Your confirmation mail was sent on the 22nd, I've just sent it again. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • Mugi89 : Hi! I purchased my digital copy of issue 92 2 days ago but still didn't receive it. When am I gonna be able to download it? thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Your mail was forwarded to the Fireworks team yesterday, I am going to ask them again. Sorry for the delay!
  • Berny : @Mitch Perry: Your order was received at 4AM local time. As stated on the order page, all payments have to be processed manually. Your copy of Fireworks 92 was added to your download section, many thanks for the purchase.
  • Berny : @RobC68: I sent you two emails explaining the situation. There's not much more I can do for you at the moment, so I'd suggest you stop buying the magazine. Thanks.
  • zom414 : Still not received the latest issue by post, I've emailed as well but not heard anything. Can you let me know what's happening please?
  • Mitch Perry : Can I have my download link, please? Issue 92 22 Sep 2020 07:57:11 BST Paypal Transaction ID: 1BS38875MX3700248
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site