New FM single from upcoming 'Metropolis' album news




Steve Overland – Vocals 

Jim Kirkpatrick – Guitars

Merv Goldsworthy – Bass

Jem Davis – Keyboards

Pete Jupp - Drums

UK classic rockers FM’s first new studio album for 15 years, ‘Metropolis’, released on Riff City Records on May 31st, distributed in the UK & Ireland by Nova via Universal Music Operations, marks a blistering return to form for this consummate hard rock band. 

‘Metropolis’, FM’s sixth studio set, contains 13 brand new melodic hard rock songs, each and every one absolutely sparkling with renewed creativity and freshness. A double A-sided radio-edit single, ‘Flamingo Road’ / ‘Hollow’, released on May 17th, precedes FM’s first UK tour dates since 1996 at the following venues:- 

May 20 Sheffield O2 Academy 2 (0844 477 2000)
May 21 Glasgow Cathouse (0871 230 7131)
May 22 Belfast Spring & Airbrake (003531 456 5569)
May 23 Birmingham O2 Academy2 (0844 477 2000)
July 08 Cardiff Millennium Plaza (02920 230130)
July 09 London Islington O2 Academy (0844 477 2000) 

Formed in summer 1984, FM signed to CBS / Sony Records a mere six months later, and after the release of their debut album, ‘Indiscreet, in 1986, won tours round Europe with the likes of Bon Jovi, Whitesnake, Meat Loaf, Gary Moore and REO Speedwagon. By 1989 FM had headlined their own 42 date UK Concert Hall tour, culminating with a tumultuous, rammed-to-the-rafters sold out show at London’s Hammersmith Apollo. 

FM released five studio albums, a live acoustic album and a ‘Best Of’, and regularly dented the top 100 albums and singles charts, before they split in 1996 in the face of the changing musical tides of that time. 

In October 2007 FM were persuaded to reform for a one-off headline show at Nottingham Rock City, (Firefest IV) and so wowed the teary eyed, sold out 1500 capacity crowd that they could not resist the lure of an ongoing reformation. 

FM knew that their comeback album had to be something a little bit special, and then wisely took their time to write and record ‘Metropolis’, a truly captivating, masterpiece album, packed with soon-to-be-acclaimed classic, intoxicating, hard rock anthems.

Share this on the web.

Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters

busy << Back

Member Login


<<  October 2021  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 5 days ago
  • Berny : RIP Alan Lancaster! :(
  • Berny : @Barneypippa: I forwarded your mail to the Fireworks team. You should receive a reply asap.
  • Barneypippa : My magazine (#96) hasnt arrived yet - should have been here last week
  • Rocktopia Te : @bakerstreetish: Pls. check your email for download instructions.
  • bakerstreeti : Hi, I just bought digital download #96. How will I be able to receive/access it? First time on this site. Thanks!
  • zom414 : Have they been posted out yet? Not received mine yet but may have the release date wrong!
  • Johns Band : Received glossy Fireworks 96 and one of best ever. I am still looking at pictures and "Revisit The Gods AOR Festive" should be great. Probably get download from issue 101 to save on space & it is read to me from audio voice. Already got Robben Ford Instrumental album "Pure" great stuff & Freddy King singing & guitar I love, so Bernie Marsden new album I will have on Amazon Prime. If you are into 70's Rock then new Help Yourself 6 CD Boxset + info will be good for you plus expert to pay no more
  • Berny : Fireworks #96 is out now! :)
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Pls. check your email!
  • Paul wiv : I have paid for issue 92 but it hasn't downloaded yet.
  • Berny : @Adamson: Bitte kontaktiere mich direkt, meine Mailadresse lautet «email»
  • Adamson : kann man hier auch auf Deutsch schreiben? denn ich hätte eine Frage?
  • KI2000 : Wow, issue #95 has to be the BEST one so far. Congratulations guys!!
  • Hysteria : GREAT MAGAZINE! Keep on rockin' guys!!!
  • Berny : Fireworks Magazine #95 is out now!
  • Berny : @Paul wiv: Many thanks for your purchase, pls. check your mail.
  • Paul wiv : I have bought issue 89 on download but it has not appeared on my account
  • Berny : @pomper: BOTH of your mails were forwarded to the Fireworks Team, please contact me directly at «email» should you still haven’t received a reply.
  • bpomper : trying to confirm my fireworks 94 order with no answer from team rocktopia??
  • bpomper : i ordered fireworks number 94 but never got a conformation other than my paypal receipt. can you confirm it went out. i have transaction id if you need it
  • Berny : @ALL: Should you have any questions about your Fireworks orders, pls. contact me directly at «email»
  • Berny : Hi @Stuey6666: You are using two user names on Rocktopia. All current orders were assigned to your second account, pls. check your mail again.
  • Stuey6666 : Hi Berny - ordered 4 issues last week - still not arrived - have checked spam etc not there. cheers stu
  • Berny : @Adolfo: I've also just sent you the magazine via WeTransfer. But please check you junk mail folder, the mail was definitely sent earlier today.
  • Berny : Hi @Adolfo: Have you already checked your spam folder? If the mail cannot be found, pls. contact me at «email»
  • Adolfo : «email»
  • Adolfo : My e - mail
  • Adolfo : I don't have any e - mail.
  • Berny : @Adolfo: Pls. check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • Adolfo : I have order the #94 but I can't find the download

Only registered users are allowed to post

Quote of the day

"An album without a hit single is like a girl with a real short mini-skirt, [but] wearing underwear." (Gregg Giuffia, House Of Lords) - Quotes collected by Dave Ling (

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site