Fireworks

CD Reviews

Magnum - 'On The 13th Day' http://www.rocktopia.co.uk/media/reviews/photos/thumbnail/200x200s/69/2d/ee/2505_magnumonthe13thday_1343148784.jpg Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     July 24, 2012    
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
9841   0   1   0   0   0

Artist

Artist

Title

A good solid addition to the Magnum collection.

Magnum are one of my favourite bands ever so I was looking forward to this album. After the disappointment of the last opus The Visitation (not counting the remix best of thingy Evolution) I was hoping for great things here.

I love the early stuff up to Storyteller, the pop years of Vigilante and Wings of Heaven were good too and Princess Alice, Moonking and Brand New Morning were all excellent returns to the pomp rocking of the early days, but in between there have been duffers too: Goodnight LA, Breath of Life, Rock Art, Sleepwalking! So where does this new CD fit in the grand scheme of all things Magnum? I was waiting for the opener ‘All The Dreamers’ to blow me away but it didn’t; it rocks along quite nicely but the big hook just isn’t there I’m afraid, so off to a disappointing start. As I sit listening to the album for the eighth time though the songs are starting to sink in and as ‘Didn’t Like You Anyway’ segues into the title track I find myself nodding along for the first time. Maybe it was the disappointment of the cover art that set my mind to negative? I hope they change it before release as it is not representative of the music here!
So now I am actually enjoying the familiar sounds of Tony Clarkin’s guitar and Mark Stanway’s keyboards driving the music along and as a slightly gruff sounding Bob Catley takes us into ‘So Let It Rain’ which is vaguely reminiscent of ‘Oh Lonely Night’ I actually find myself singing along to the chorus! Some nice time changes allowing the piano and drums to build again to the chorus - now this is a good song.

Next up is the staccato vaguely Kashmir riff of ‘Dance Of The Black Tattoo’, an interesting vibe on this and quite heavy, and while not the usual Magnum fare a strong hook and nice keyboard effects keep me attentive throughout this mini epic which ends with disturbing keyboards. ‘Shadow Town’ is next up and a majestic sweeping keyboard fill gives way to a galloping drum beat and restrained vocal, although the chorus is a little bland the song does romp along quite nicely with some tasteful guitar work throughout too. ‘Putting Things In Place’ is the big ballad on the album and is absolutely beautiful, building with emotive lyrics to a piano refrain which in turn gives way to a soaring repeated chorus and great vocal from Mr Catley now fading to close. A gorgeous song superbly executed. ‘Broken Promises’ romps along quite nicely to get the tempo back up before a warm melodic guitar solo temporarily slows it down before building to heavier second solo drives the song into its segue with the riff that opens ‘See How They Fall’. Guitar in a similar style to ‘Kingdom of Madness’ or ‘Back To Earth’ drives the song along pleasingly to the catchy bridge and chorus which in turn leads into pomptastic keyboard and guitar solos. Finally, ‘From Within’ closes proceedings and wouldn’t sound out of place on any of the early Magnum albums.

So after slightly false start this is most definitely a grower of an album which rewards repeated plays. I am very happy to report that Magnum are back once again and I would imagine quite a few of these tunes will find their way into the live set too. A good solid addition to the Magnum collection.

Nikki Tylar

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.

 


Comments (8)add comment

boltonboy said:

...
I have seen this band more times than any other artist.They are part of my life, they played local gigs and made great melodic rock music.Their best days may be gone but they are an institution.Massive respect.
 
July 24, 2012
Votes: +1

magnum2f said:

...
yeah, i too grew up with magnums early exceptional stuff and we were really spoiled with the live sets back then. There were some comparatively barren times after the 'wings' LP. I enjoyed 'breath' and 'morning' but felt magnum never truely returned to form till the amazing 'princess' LP. This new offering is a fine addition to the catalogue with hints at early sounds and i look forward to hearing these performed live. george
 
July 25, 2012
Votes: +0

BLM said:

...
But they still seem to be stuck in ONE tempo, which is really, really, REALLY frustrating!! smilies/sad.gif((
 
July 27, 2012
Votes: +0

simon said:

...
ok, goodnight LA and sleepwalking were not good but Rock Art???? Absolute stormer!!! My fave magnum cd along with moonking and storytellers!!
 
September 11, 2012
Votes: +0

Marcoh said:

...
Have to agree this album is a slow burner!! But songs like Heartbroke and Busted and Only a memory from Goodnight L.A and Only in America and Stormy Weather from Sleepwalking are classics, as is the Rock Art album
 
September 25, 2012
Votes: +0

Ruggie John said:

...
Just received my copy today. Not finished listening yet but, agree it harks back to the early days in a lot of ways, which is a good thing. As for the Visitation, Sleepwalking and Rock Art being not up to scratch! Suggest you purchase a better sound system smilies/wink.gif
 
September 27, 2012
Votes: +0

johnnyboyrocks said:

September 28, 2012
Votes: +0

ruggie john said:

...
Now listened to both discs,with volume turned up and,.... in my humble opinion it is a corker of an album if not the best of the noughty's up there with Vigilante et al. As for the bonus disk acoustic versions .....outstanding!

 
October 03, 2012
Votes: +0

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


busy

Member Login



Calendar

<<  January 2021  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
      1  2  3
  4  5  6  7  8  910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 2 weeks, 6 days ago
  • Johns Band : Will videos appear again in watch and listen. Good way for who albums to buy. I have Wrathchild - Live From London on DVD that might have been here. YouTube have averts now.
  • Berny : @rocktu: We used to produce a series of podcasts that were available for download on Rocktopia. Other than that, there's no radio station I am aware of.
  • rocktu : Hi i would like to know was there ever a radio station of fireworks
  • rocktu : Hi
  • Rocktopia Te : Fireworks #93 is out now! : - )
  • Berny : Hello @zigma33, you should have received a download link two days ago. Could you pls check your inboxes? Many thanks, B. :)
  • zigma33 : Hi! I purchased your latest issue #92 yesterday but never received my download.
  • daveomd : Got it along with my download, everything looks great! Thanks, Dave
  • Berny : @daveomd: We sent you a mail immediately after your purchase, and have just sent another email now. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • daveomd : I purchased your latest issue #92 but never received my download.
  • Berny : @Hysteria & @KI2000: Many thanks for your kind words! :)
  • Hysteria : Received my download copy almost immediately and downloaded 50 magazines for free. Cannot complain! Thanks guys!!!
  • KI2000 : Love the new issue guys, great magazine!
  • Berny : @Mugi89: Your confirmation mail was sent on the 22nd, I've just sent it again. Please contact me at «email» should you not receive it. Many thanks!
  • Mugi89 : Hi! I purchased my digital copy of issue 92 2 days ago but still didn't receive it. When am I gonna be able to download it? thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Your mail was forwarded to the Fireworks team yesterday, I am going to ask them again. Sorry for the delay!
  • Berny : @Mitch Perry: Your order was received at 4AM local time. As stated on the order page, all payments have to be processed manually. Your copy of Fireworks 92 was added to your download section, many thanks for the purchase.
  • Berny : @RobC68: I sent you two emails explaining the situation. There's not much more I can do for you at the moment, so I'd suggest you stop buying the magazine. Thanks.
  • zom414 : Still not received the latest issue by post, I've emailed as well but not heard anything. Can you let me know what's happening please?
  • Mitch Perry : Can I have my download link, please? Issue 92 22 Sep 2020 07:57:11 BST Paypal Transaction ID: 1BS38875MX3700248
  • RobC68 : purchased issue 92 in download version. been waiting more than a day....PATHETIC SERVICE as it happens with every purchase!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Berny : @rgilman: Please check your e - mail for download instructions.
  • rgilman : Hello I bought the Deep Purple issue how do I download it? Thanks
  • Berny : @jharper36: Please check your e - mail.
  • jharper36 : Hi, i purchased the download of issue #92. How do I download it?
  • Berny : @loudjlopez: Sorry for the troubles, pls. check your mail. Many thanks!
  • loudjlopez@m : Any word on my digital download of issue 91. Paid on Saturday. It is Tuesday. Thanks
  • loudjlopez@m : Paid for Fireworks #91 for digital download. No word since Saturday and it is Monday.
  • Berny : @fdr: Magazines were sent on Monday. Thanks for your purchase and best regards, B. :)
  • fdr : Hi, yesterday (august 12th) I sent you a payment for 21GBP for the purchase of issues 91 and 82 of Fireworks magazine. (code 7D3182072X778721A) but still haven't received a word od confirmation. Can you please check?

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us

FacebookTwitterYoutubeGoogle

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site