CD Reviews

Castle - 'Blacklands' Hot

Added by Central Electronic Brain     August 02, 2012    
0.0 (0)
4219   0   1   0   0   0





A great album.

We picked up on Castle’s debut ‘In Witch Order’ back in Fireworks #46 (click here to read the review on Rocktopia), describing it as an ‘exciting cocktail of songs [which] hit you straight between the eyes... It’s pure metal; it’s pure genius.’ A year or so later the San Francisco trio are back, bigger and badder, with ‘Blacklands’, an album which boasts familiar Castle hallmarks – the retro sound is still there, as are the killer riffs and no-nonsense attitude – but this time there is more focus, more direction to both the material and the performances. As guitarist and founder member Mat Davis is keen to point out, “‘Blacklands’ is an altogether different beast to ‘In Witch Order’. The debut took five years start to finish and the new one was done in six months. We wanted to have a live feel and an edginess to the album and I think we got that. It sounds bigger and hits harder.” And he’s not kidding. Check out opener ‘Ever Hunter’ and close your eyes, and you could be in the rehearsal room with Davis as he and his cohorts (bassist/vocalist Elizabeth Backwell and drummer Al McCartney) batter you with an aural tidal wave as they race through the material.

Fireworks - The Ultimate Magazine For Melodic Rock Music

This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site

All eight cuts are on the album are epic in scope, if not in length. “There were elements of that on our debut but I deliberately set out to achieve that with most of these songs,” says Davis. “I also wanted to use sound textures and shades that we hadn’t explored on our debut.” The result is very much a metal offering, but one with degrees of light and shade, simplicity and complexity, excitement and extremities. Songs are rarely straightforward, often heading off in a different direction when you least expect it, without being over-complicated or too demanding for their own good. In fact one of the many attractions of the album is that the eight songs on offer are done and dusted in thirty-five minutes, so like of lot of those early Seventies classic LPs ‘Blacklands’ says what it has say with the minimum of fuss and without overstaying its welcome.

Once again, there’s the element of early Metallica in the riffs and the runs, particularly in the glorious ‘Curses Of The Priests’ and the wonderfully titled ‘Venus Pentagram’, and the raw sound and live feel once again bring to mind those early NWOBHM offerings from the Eighties when bands were trying to break out of a confining acronym. As you’d expect, Castle save the best till last, and the six-minute closer ‘Dying Breed’ – the final track to be written for the album – is a furious maelstrom of passion and power which plays out to a relentless riff and a screaming feedback-driven solo to die for.

‘Blacklands’ is a great album, even better than its predecessor, and the current clutch of European dates Castle are undertaking will make them a whole host of new friends. Trust me on this.

John Tucker

Share this on the web.

User reviews

There are no user reviews for this listing.


Comments (0)add comment

Write comment

security image
Write the displayed characters


Member Login


<<  October 2019  >>
 Mo  Tu  We  Th  Fr  Sa  Su 
   1  2  3  4  5  6
  7  8  910111213

Search Here

Shout Here

Latest Message: 1 month, 2 weeks ago
  • Rocktopia Te : @kbm1983: Currently, all orders have to be be processed manually. This could take a few hours. Sorry for the delay, you shoulkd have received a mail containing download instructions by now. @ all: Pls. do not worry in case you see a PayPal transaction error message. Your order was received, pls. do not order the magazine twice. Many thanks for your understanding!
  • kbm1983 : Hi, I bought #91 earlier today but its still not in my downloads. Can you check it out please. Thanks!
  • Rocktopia Te : @ Man Shaped Wolf: You should have received a mail containing download instructions yesterday. Sorry for the delay!
  • Man Shaped W : Hey, same as defron but for 91 :) excited to read our review
  • Berny : @Defron: Can you pls. check your mail? Many thanks, B. :)
  • Defron : Hi guys. Bought #90 couples of hours ago but still not in my downloads . Can you check pls regards Ro
  • Berny : @SoCal Rocker: Welcome back! There are 50 free issues of Fireworks Magazine for you (and of course all other Rocktopians) to download. Check out the news on the frontpage. Stay happy, safe & healthy. Best wishes to California!
  • SoCal Rocker : Hello from Burbank CA, I had to change my name and PW. How's anyone doing?
  • Rocktopia Te : @davidputnam: Could you please check your email? Many thanks & best regards, RT
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90 and received paypal receipt, but cant find in downloads. Please advise.
  • davidnputnam : I ordered 86 - 90, but cant find in Downloads. i have the paypal receipt.
  • Berny : @rarock: Glad we were able to sort this out. Thanks for your purchase!
  • rarock : Hi there. I have similar problem with Issue 90, payed by Paypal, but doesnt show in Orders or in Downloads. Thanks for help
  • KI2000 : Thanks Fireworks Magazine and Rocktopia!
  • Hysteria : WOW! Thanks to the Fireworks Team for this AMAZING offer. YOU GUYS ROCK!!!! \m/ \m/
  • Rocktopia Te : Check out the Fireworks Magazine Corona quarantine give - away!
  • Johns Band : Royal Hunt new concept album in the works to be released in 2020.
  • Berny : @WardyS1: I will contact you by e - mail.
  • WardyS1 : Hi. Also purchased 90 couple days back but not in my orders have receipt. Cannot find an email to contact instead link sorry
  • Rocktopia Te : @tomandpam: Hope this is now sorted and you were able to download the magazine
  • tomandpam : I ordered a download of #90 and it's not in my orders and I have the PayPal receipt. Can you help with this? Thanks
  • Berny : @zom414: Apologies for my late reply. Could you please contact me directly at «email» ? Many thanks in advance!
  • zom414 : Trying to change my password but the security question won't accept my answer, can you help?
  • SeaDog57 : just an observation. I just got Issue 89 at the Bookstore and when i looked at the spine of the magazine it says "Fireworks Issue 85 Winter Jan - Mar 2019" Was this a misprint? The rest of the Magazine is Issue 89. Was just wondering did anyone else notice this?
  • Berny : Apologies! Magazine can now be accessed from your download section. Best wishes, B.
  • Berny : @Martykelly: We're sorry
  • Martykelly : Just purchased issue 89 hoping its going to be in my download soon.
  • Johns Band : Will "Watch & Listen" music videos make a comeback. Just order H.E.A.T. "Live In London" CD.
  • Berny : @the trapps: Apologies for the delay in processing your order. The magazine is now available in your downloads section.
  • the trapps : waiting for the issue 89 which we purchased to be in our downloads section ???

Only registered users are allowed to post

Follow Us


This website uses cookies to help us give you the best experience when you visit. Cookies used for the essential operation of the site have already been set. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more about the cookies we use and how to delete them, see our Privacy Statement.

I accept cookies from this site